Pendleton County Picture Hub





Do you have a date to add? Go to Pendleton County by the Number's Facebook page and post it.

Picture Hub Home

Pendleton County
by the Numbers



1786--Captain John Waller settles in what is now Pendleton County.

1791--Gabriel (1758 - 1841) and Rachell (Ballard) Mullins, settle at Grassy Creek with their daughter, Mary Rachell, and sons Stephen, Fountain, Reuben and Richard.

1792--Doctor Monroe and a surveyor named Frazer come to Levengood [Hayes Station Valley] from Virginia.

1792 June--Forks of Licking Church, Falmouth is probably gathered by Alexander Monroe at which time it reported 18 members.

1792 [ish]--First map of Falmouth drawn.

1792--Dr. Jeremiah Monroe the first physician in Falmouth.

1793 December 10-- Falmouth chartered by the Kentucky legislature.

1793--Big Stepstone Creek is named by a party of surveyors while making a survey of a land grant in that locality. One of the surveying party stated in his deposition that they gave the name to the creek because the creek bed had the appearance of a series of stone steps. Little Stepstone, a short distance to the north of Big Stepstone, apparently was not discovered by the surveying party in 1793, but was given its name for similar reasons.

1795[ish]--Bonar Cemetery, Boston Station, started.

1795--Alvin Montjoy Cabin is built in Falmouth.

1796--First road from Falmouth to Harrison County line is built.

1798 December 13-- Kentucky's General Assembly approves an act to create a new county out of the counties of Campbell and Bracken, stating "that after the 10th day of May, 1799, all the part of the counties of Campbell and Bracken, beginning at the Ohio River, two miles below Big Stepping Stone Creek, thence a direct line across the Main Licking River, to the mouth of the North Fork, thence a direct line to the mouth of Big Stepping Stone and down the Ohio River to the beginning. This shall be called "Pendleton County". The county embraces about 300 square miles and named for Judge Edmund Pendleton of Carolina County, Virginia. It is the 28th county in the state of Kentucky. Falmouth, lying in the center of the county, is the county seat. William Covington Kennett is the first County Clerk and James M. Wilson is elected the first Mayor.

1799 [ish]--Thomas Anderson owned lot #35 on Union Street which is now Main Street and this lot is in the second one north from Shelby on the east side of Main St. On Dec. 3, 1799 Thomas Anderson was granted a license to operate a tavern in the town of Falmouth, so one concludes that hotel was located on that lot. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1799 June 4--William Montjoy elected Pendleton County's first clerk.


Top

1700s


1800--First Pendleton County Census.

1800--First jail is built in Falmouth at Second and Maple Streets, built by Reuben Kemp.

1800--Stone courthouse completed in Falmouth.

1800--Pendleton Courthouse Post Office open [renamed Falmouth Post Office in 1807].

1804 January 15--George Colvin Lightfoot born in Pendleton County [son of William Lightfoot and Leannah Colvin Lightfoot].

1805--South of town about 5 miles we find the old Colvin house, which until the mid-1900s had remained in the possession of that family. It was this land--part of the Bennett Bartlett patent--that Charles Colvin purchased in 1799 and built his house of logs using wooden pegs in place of nails in its construction. It was in this home that the First Methodist meeting in Pendleton County was held. Such meetings continued to be held in this house until such time as the first church was built. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1806--Soon after the erection of the Colvin House, the Beverly Minor home, a large two story brick, was built near Bunker Hill by the contractor James Duvall, a relation of Mrs. Minor. In this home the Baptist of the early days met and held their services. This home was formerly back and unseen from the road but after its second owner, Jas. T. Applegate, bought it the road was re-routed so that one could see it when riding along the Cynthiana Pike. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1807--Falmouth Post Office open [formerly Pendleton Courthouse Post Office].

1807 March 15-- Luther Martin Kennet is born in Falmouth to Press and Margaret (Porter) Graves. [His legacy is the promotion of railroads and sanitation measures. He is elected mayor of St. Louis in 1850. He is the Vice-President of the Pacific Railroad (while he served as mayor). In 1854, he is elected to the U.S. Senate.]

1809 March 1--Samuel Franklin Swope born.

1810--Kennett Tavern is built.

1811--Fryer House's construction is begun by Walter Fryer [not completed until two years later, in 1813.].

1813--Fryer House's construction completed.

1814--Pendleton Academy begins in Falmouth, organized and overseen by Professor R. C. Robinson of Moscow, Ohio. Known then as 'The Seminary', in 1848, a new building is erected, called 'The Pendleton Academy'. Closes in 1921, then known as Falmouth Common School.

1815--Rueben McCarty marries Polly Porter (Potter?) and owns much property in Falmouth and Pendleton County. He serves as County Clerk from 1833 to 1851 and is also County Surveyor. From Richard Collins, McCarty buys lots 143-144 in Falmouth in Aug. 1834 and they are located on the south side of Shelby Street between Maple Ave. and Montjoy St. There stands today a house McCarty built on these lots. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940. 1815 [ish]--Bernimen cabin [Murphy house] in Grassy Creek built.

1816--The land upon which the Oldham plantation is situated is purchased from Henry Clay and J. Hughes by Tyree Oldham, father of T. J. Oldham, for the sum of $2500.00 and 5 shillings. Thomas Jefferson Oldham operates a ferry across Main Licking river but is discontinued in 1853. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1817--Unity Baptist Church founded by Reverend Christian Tomlin.

1818 January 3--The Church of Richland [Richland Baptist Church] first meeting.

1819[ish]--Littell's Station founded.

1820--Reuben McCarty Building, Park street, Falmouth built [for his daughter, as a tavern].

1820 [ish]--William Logan builds, as his home, about two and one-half miles east of Falmouth on the Milford Pike and Licking River, a two story log house. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1820[ish]--Littell's Station renamed Callensville [Callinsville] for local businessman John Callin.

1820--Near McKenneysburg we find the King house which is another two story log house that has been weather boarded. There is evidence that this house was built about 1820 and the land upon which it stands was part of the Forsythe and Hanley patent, which extended "from river to river". 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1820-- Joseph Hitch in 1820 built near Catawba his home and called it "Popular Grove". This is one of the best known old homes in the county and is built of brick, they having been burned near the site of the house. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1820 December 30--Grassy Creek Post Office is established, with Boswell K. Uridge as postmaster. The name of the office was changed to Demossville August 29, 1854 and moved from Three Forks Grassy Creek to the new railroad which was built through there in 1853.

1822 February --Boston Steele is born in Russell County, Virginia to Harvey Jacob and Jane Asbury Steele.

1822-1823--Luther Martin Kennett Deputy County Clerk of Pendleton County.

1822 March 21--Samuel Hauser, an attorney who came to Falmouth from North Carolina married Mary Ann Kennett and took her to a home he had built for her on Main Street and south east corner of the alley. This was a two story brick house (it has in recent years been covered with stucco) set directly on the pavement. The Hausers had several children and their son, Samuel T. Hauser, was perhaps the most prominent citizen Falmouth ever had. He was first Governor of Montana, having followed the Lewis & Clark expedition in 1862 and located in Helena and was closely connected with the development of the west. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1823 February --John Waller dies.

1824--Charity Southgate files suit in Pendleton County asking the court to declare her a free woman.

1825-- Knoxville settled.

1825-- Luther Martin Kennett moves to St. Louis, Missouri.

1825--Wilson home at Fourth and Main Streets, Falmouth is built by Enos Daniels.

1825--Tyree Oldham builds a Virginia-style brick home in Shoemakertown.

1827--Alvin Montjoy dies.

1827--Wilson house, 313 Main Street, Falmouth is built by Willis Duncan.

1827 December 18--A resolution is passed by the U.S. Senate designating the locations for a proposed National Armory. One of those locations is in the Butler/Flour Creek area.

1828[ish]--Taylor Family Cemetery starts in Flour Creek.

1828--Thomas Jefferson Oldham and Permelia Ann Colvin marry.

1828--A tornado kills two, causes a six mile wide path of devastation.

1828--On the North end of Main Street below Second, which was first called Ferry Street, there is a quaint two story brick house and it was there that Johnson Minor, a cabinet maker and his wife Harriet lived having bought the property from Philip Bush. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1829 [ish]-- Mullins Cemetery started.

1830--Road toll-houses open at the entrances to DeMossville and Butler.

1830~-- Johnson [Fork Lick] Post Office opens.

1830 March 1--Samuel Franklin Swope admitted to the bar.

1830 June 10--George Colvin Lightfoot marries Malinda O. Holton, daughter of Elijah Holton of Falmouth, Kentucky.

1830 July 3--Thomas Lewis Garrard buys land from John Childers.

1832--Flour Creek Christian Church founded.

1832--Samuel Franklin Swope moves to Falmouth.

1833 January 10--Samuel Thomas Hauser is born to Samuel Thomas and Mary Ann (Kennett) Hauser in Falmouth; was appointed the 7th Governor of the Montana Territory, serving from 1885 to 1887; Hauser died in Helena, Montana on November 10, 1914 (Hauser Street in Falmouth).

1833 February 9-1842--Travelers Rest Post Office operational with Robert Rawlings as postmaster [in April of 1842, when Robert Haviland became postmaster, he moved the post office over the Harrison County line and renamed the small community there Havilandsville.] It is believed that this office was originally about Richland.

1833 June/July--Cholera widespread throughout central Kentucky. At least 14 die in Pendleton County.

1834 August--From Richard Collins, Rueben McCarty buys lots 143-144 in Falmouth [located on the south side of Shelby Street between Maple Avenue and Montjoy Street].

1835--Grassy Creek Precinct is established.

1836--Kentucky's second Governor was James Garrard and his grandson, Thomas Lewis Garrard did build the old Garrard home on Duck Branch of the Licking River. A two and a half story house with brick kitchen, slave cabins and loom house built in the yard at the rear. This home was built near a never failing spring and faced the river along which the road originally ran--it being later located at the rear of the house. R. F. Garrard, son of Thomas Lewis later owned this home and it was not until 1907 that he disposed of it after having spent nearly seventy years in the home in which he was born. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1836-Marcus-Crooked Creek Baptist Church is established.

1837--First store in Butler is started by the Ham Brothers then Uriah Kendall, followed by Gus and Dan Yelton and Harry Stephenson. Store operated by Mr. L. M. Armstrong in 1856.

1837-9, 1841--Samuel Franklin Swope a member of the State House of Representatives.

1838--Grassy Creek Christian Church founded.

1839-1891--Motier Post Office operational.

1839--Dr. James Wilson, Jr. began his practice of medicine at Falmouth [His son John Edwin Wilson began his practice of medicine in 1888.]

1840--Enos Daniel's home was situated on Main Street about where the Falmouth Outlook office now stands; for $250.00 a southern portion of that lot #36 (mentioned in the deed as the garden lot) to G. C. Lightfoot and it was on that lot the old Lightfoot home was erected and where for many years a tavern was operated by the Lightfoot family. 'Some Old Homes In Pendleton County' Nell Bradford Woolery (Mrs. Louis A.) March, 1940.

1840~--Stower's Store [Callen ] Post Office opens, replacing Fork Lick.

1840-1843--Licking Grove Post Office open [becomes Ash Run 1844].

1844 December 13-- Joseph Macauley Lowe is born in Callensville, Kentucky, son of Moses and Nancy Watson Porter Lowe. Joined the Confederate Army, serving as a courier. He carried messages between the Cumberland Gap and the Confederate government at Richmond, VA.

1844-1848--Samuel Franklin Swope serves in the State Senate.

1844-1857--Ash Run Post Office operational.

1845-- Lawsuit filed in Pendleton County by Roland West, Jr on behalf of his father, currently a resident of Missouri, against Daniel Murley, Thomas S Brann, Amos Antrobus, . The dispute was over land surveyed in the Murley Tract and sold by Murley to Brann and later by Brann to Antrobus. In selling the land 100 acres of West's land on the Fork Lick Creek was sold to Antrobus by Brann. In addition, Antrobus claimed that West sold him an additional 100 acres of land for $1,000, $200 of which was allegedly given in land owned in Clark County. The lower court ruled in favor of West. Amos Antrobus dies and his widow filed two appeals, 1864 & 1866 and West won on appeal both times. In 1868, the Antrobuses were ordered by the courts to sign the deed, returning the land to West. This case was in the courts for over 20 years.

1845 January--By virtue of a decree of the Pendleton Circuit Court, entered up at the last September term, in the case of George C. Lightfoot, Administrator of the estate of Francis Chalfant, deceased, against the creditors and heirs of said estate. I will, on the 23 day of January next, on the premises, offer at public auction to the best bidder a tract of forest land, (as the property of said descendant) lying in Harrison county, Kentucky, on the west side of main Licking River, and about three miles above Claysville, containing by survey 108 acres.'Licking Valley Register'

1846-1860--Callensville Post Office operational.

1847 [ish]--Ducker Cemetery [on the border of Kenton and Pendleton Counties] started.

1847--George Colvin Lightfoot moves to Covington, Kentucky to manage the Madison House.

1847 March 1--Licking and Lexington Railroad Company is incorporated to build a railroad from Covington or Newport to Lexington.

1847 September 12--Callensville Post Office opens; Jonathan Callen, postmaster.

1847-- Pendleton County
Justices of the Peace John Webb, Thomas L. Garrard, Burkitt Colvin, Robert S. Fugate, John Wheeler, K. Blackburn, Patrick Mullins, William G. Woodson, Wm. H. Cleaveland, Absalom Pettit, Enos Daniel, Charles Carter, Wm. Ellis, Wm. B. Hall, Thomas S. Brown
Sheriff Wm. Mullins, Grassy Creek, commissioned Nov. 25, 1844
Deputy Sheriff George Hawser and William Johnson, Falmouth.
County Attorney Samuel F. Swope, do.
Jailer Elisha Ford, do.
Coroner Samuel Boner
Constables A. E. Rule, W. D. Sharp, Falmouth; Robert M'Nay, Grassy Creek; William Bates, Littleton Lancaster, Wm. Angel, Flower Creek; S. F. Pigg, H.M. Low.
Commissioner of Tax W. D. Sharp, Falmouth; William Angel
Attorneys At Law Samuel F. Swope and Sam. F. Hawser, Falmouth.
Physicians James Wilson, Daniel Barber, Wm. L. Thomas, Falmouth; W. Thomas, Pleasant Ridge.
Principal Merchants Ralph Tomlinson, Simon & Harmon, Falmouth; Collen & Hume, Fugate & Sechrest, Collensville; Herbert Shomaker, Flower Creek.

1847--Lock No. 4 [Clayton/Butler]Post Office operational.

1848-1906--Knoxville Post Office open.

1848 January 3-- Reuben McCarty buys the property where [present-day] Woodhead and Sons Funeral Home will be.

1848--Second courthouse completed in Falmouth.

1848 September 27--Charles Boner, receives a land grant of 275 acres near the Main Licking River. Survey Date: 10/13/184 8 Grant Date: 09/27/1848

1849--William A. Bradford is born, son of Hugh and Margaret (Chalfant) Bradford.

1849 April 19--Samuel Thomas Hauser receives a land grant of 76 acres in Pendleton County. Survey Date: 09/03/1847; Grant Date: 04/19/1849

1849--Name is changed from Licking and Lexington Railroad Company to Covington and Lexington Railroad.

1850-- Luther Martin Kennett elected mayor of St. Louis.

1850-- J. I. Hudnall closes his business. [conducted a hattery in a two-story log building at the rear of the store later run by Sol Goldberg, facing the public square. The hattery conducted business until he is elected County Judge.] [James Irvin Hudnall is the son of Rene' Chastain "Wren" Hudnall and Sarah Best "Sally" Taylor. [James Irvin Hudnall (1822 - 1885) ] .

1850 August -- “We learn that a locality on Grassy Creek, in Pendleton county, has been severely afflicted. About two weeks ago the cholera and flux broke out simultaneously in a malignant form. In a short time from forty to fifty deaths, or about one-third of the entire population of the neighborhood, had died of one or the other of these diseases. At last account the sickness still prevailed, but with some abatement of its virulence.” the 'Covington Journal'

1850[ish]--McMillian family cemetery started.

1850 October 28--Richard Mullins receives a land grant of 500 acres at Grassy Branch of Harrison Creek near the Main Licking River. Survey Date: 06/18/1849 Grant Date: 10/28/1850

1850 December 21--First Masonic lodge--DeMoss Lodge # 220--in Pendleton County is organized by Richard Mullins of Grassy Creek.

1851--Knoxville Cemetery is established.

1851--First Demoss Masonic Lodge in Grassy Creek is chartered, built by Mr. ** Golden.

1851 July--Construction commences on railroad from Covington to Paris (78 miles) completed and in operation on March 9,1856.

1851 August--"We learn that a locality on Grassy Creek, in Pendleton County, has been severely afflicted. About two weeks ago the cholera and flux broke out simultaneously in a malignant form. In a short time from forty to fifty deaths, or about 1/3 of the entire population of the neighborhood, had died at one time or the other of these diseases. At last accounts the sickness still prevailed, but with some abatement of its virulence." The Journal Covington, Ky. 1851 September 1--Ongoing reporting of Cholera outbreak in Grassy Creek by Louisville Daily Journal.

1852-- Samuel Thomas Hauser employed by the Kentucky Central Railroad.

1852--Stowers Station [Morgan] founded.

1852--George Colvin Lightfoot returns to Falmouth takes charge of his hotel (The Jefferson House) and resumes the mercantile business.

1852--Completion of the Kentucky Central Railroad from Covington to Lexington.

1853--LLL Building, Shelby Street [named for Lexington, Louisville and Latonia Highways] built by Samuel Hauser.

1853--Kentucky Central Railroad incorporates.

1853---Falmouth Methodist Church built at corner of Shelby Street and Maple Avenue. [It was first called Mary's Chapel after Mrs. Mary Frazer Robbins.]

1853 May 10--" A party of citizens of Pendleton county, last week, turned out to the number of fifty to eject a man named Finney, who kept a bawdy house in the upper part of the county. After some demonstration of resistance Finney was taken and escorted with an armed force to the river- flogged and ducked, and then permitted to depart." From the Louisville Daily Courier

1853--First bridge across the Licking [Shoemakertown ]--suspension bridge; in  1868 it fell into the river.

1853 October 17--First railroad through Falmouth [the Covington and Lexington].

1853 November--The Pendleton county folks gave a great barbecue at Falmouth in honor of the Covington railroad being opened--The Louisville Daily Courier

1854-- Samuel Thomas Hauser moves to Missouri.

1854--New jail is built in Falmouth behind the court house facing Chapel Street.

1854--DeMossville Post Office opens.

1854 June 14--Leslie T. Applegate is born, the son of James T. and Mary C. (Colvin) Applegate

1854---The K. C. [Kentucky Central] is completed from Covington to Falmouth.

1854-- Samuel Thomas Hauser works as a civil engineer for the railroads.

1854 October--Suspension bridge at Falmouth is rendered impassable for several weeks [by "remarkably heavy rains for 48 hours"].

1854 March--Major flooding of Licking River 42.8 feet.

1884--A Baptist church is built on Church Street (now called Peoples Street)in Butler. It is replaced by a new brick church in the Grant subdivision, dedicated in 1959.

1854--Bethel Cemetery begun as a family graveyard. [In 1895, then-owner Alex Emerick fenced in ½ an acre for use as a public, rather than exclusively a family, cemetery.] [there is disagreement of dates but church and cemetery records list 1854 not 1848 or 1850]

1855-1860--Wright's Station Post Office open.

1855 February--Mr. Jonathon G. Ellis, a school teacher near Havilandsville, Pendleton County, while going to his school house on Monday morning, found a dead man in a sitting posture, near a desk. The Coroner's jury returned a verdict that the deceased came to his death by hanging himself with a neck handkerchief. His pantaloons pocket contained an old money purse, in which was found a slip of paper, with the following written upon it, in a very pretty hand--Caleb Write, or G. F. Write, Maysville, Mason county, Ky. No money was found upon his person. Near him lay a four ounce vial, with about a teaspoonful of laudanum in it.

1855 March 4-1857 March 3--Samuel Franklin Swope elected as a candidate of the American Party ['Know Nothings'] to the Thirty-fourth Congress [was not a candidate for renomination in 1856].

1855 August 14--Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church, on Highway 467 near Straight Shoot Road, is organized and is called the "Regular Baptist Church of Jesus Christ" until 1955 when it is voted to change the name to Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church.

1855--Boston Station is founded.

1855-1860--Meridian Post Office open.

1855-1861-- Samuel Thomas Hauser begins as an assistant engineer for the Missouri Pacific and Northern Pacific railways and worked his way up to become chief engineer on the Lexington to Sedalia branch.

1855 October 19--Charleston, Illinois: Nathan Ellington, clerk of the Coles County circuit court, was fatally shot by his son-in-law, Adolphus F. Monroe, formerly of Falmouth, Kentucky.

1855 December--Clarke Wolfe, is sentenced to the Penitentiary, for a term of ten years, charged with committing a rape upon the person of his step daughter, a child under ten years of age.

1856 January 3--Morgan Post Office opens Benjamin F. (“Doc”) Hume, postmaster.

1856 January 24-- Adolphus Monroe. the murderer of Mr. Ellington at Charleston is found guilty and sentenced to hang.

1856 February 15--Governor Matteson, has granted Monroe, who was to be hanged this day at Charleston, a reprieve of three months.

1856 February 18--At twelve o’clock midnight a lynch mob commenced moving towards the courthouse, led on by a man by the name of James Cunningham, a brother-in-law of the prisoner.
Adolphus Monroe hanged; the body returned back to Kentucky for burial.

1856-1863--Aspen Grove Post Office open.

1856--Church of Christ built at Morgan.

1856--First Butler Schoolhouse is built.

1856--Catawba settled.

1857 April-- Thomas Roberts kills James Blackburn in Pendleton County.

1857--Pendleton House [Watson Hotel], 506 Shelby Street, Falmouth is built; original owner Abdelah Watson. Built to serve train passengers. [Legend says that slaves were housed in the basement as one of the stops of the “underground railroad” and Confederate Soldiers were housed upstairs.]

1857 December 8--Nathaniel Cradit Ridgway born.

1858-1908--Gardnersville Post Office open.

1858 June--Governor James Turner Morehead issues a proclamation, offering $300 reward for the apprehension of Thomas Roberts, who killed James Blackburn in Pendleton County in April of 1857, and made his escape.

1859 January--S. P. Roberts, who is charged with the murder of James B. Blackburn, in Pendleton county in April, 185, was arrested in Kansas territory by the sheriff of Pendleton county and is now in jail at Falmouth, awaiting the action of the next Pendleton Circuit Court. [At a log-rolling, Willis Loveless and James Blackburn got into a dispute, which resulted in a fight between these two men. The peace was commanded by Esq. K. Blackburn (his nephew) undertook to part the combatants. While thus engaged Roberts struck James B. Blackburn with a handspike, the blow causing death in about 36 hours. Roberts immediately fled and nothing was known of his whereabouts until recently.]

1859--[For Aspen Grove] A small post village of Pendleton county, situated on Wind Ridge, 12 miles from Falmouth, the capital of the county, 80 miles north east from Frankfort, 100 miles from Louisville, and by stage route 25 miles from Covington. It contains one store, two churches, one water flouring, and one saw mill. Population 200. Post Office established in 1854. V. F. Rouse, postmaster.

1859 March--'It seems that silver ore in large quantities and of fine quality has been found down in Pendleton county, which is causing great excitement among the good people of that region of country. The following letter in regard to the matter we have just received from one of the most reliable citizens of Bracken county, who has been down in the mining region. His letter is accompanied by a specimen of the ore, which we have shown to a silversmith in this city who says that it looks like the genuine stuff:' The Maysville Eagle

1859 March 28--'Silver ore discovered on Willow Creek, four miles from Falmouth' 'History of Kentucky' by Lewis Collins, ‎Richard H. Collins

1859 June 11--In DeMossville, Tim Ryan kills his brother, ** Ryan, beating him to death after an argument and scuffle. Both had been drinking.

1860 February 8--Callensville Post Office closes.

1860 March--Catawba incorporated.

1860 March--DeMossville incorporated.

1860--[For Falmouth] A post village and the capital of Pendleton county, situated on the left bank of Licking river, at the junction with its south branch, and a station on the Kentucky Central Railroad, 60 miles north east from Frankfort, 39 miles from Covington, and about 100 miles from Louisville. It is situated on a beautiful plain and surrounded by heights which command an extensive view, It has considerable river traffic, and contains a Court House and other county buildings, four churches (Methodist, Baptist, Reformed, and Catholic), one Seminary, one Masonic Lodge (Orion, No. 222), one water flouring and one steam saw mill, four hotels, six general stores, eight attorneys, two magistrates, one baker, one cooper, one milliner, and ten or twelve mechanical trades. Population 500. Post office established 1819. George W. Jameson, postmaster. Forty six businesses listed.

1860--Browningsville Church had its beginnings ; in 1869 Browningsville Church renamed The Oakland Christian Church.

1860--Reddy Inn [Saloon], 235 Main Street, Falmouth originally owned by Thomas Oldham. There was a saloon in front, cards in the back and women upstairs. Many remember it as W.J. Rule's variety store in the mid-1900s.

1860 December--'The Baptist Churches of Grassy Creek, Crittenden, Unity, Pleasant Ridge, Oak Ridge, Short Creek and Mt. Carmel, compromise 550 members, have organized a new Association, by the name of “Crittenden Association of United Baptists.” The Association will hold its meeting next year with the Grassy Creek Church, Pendleton county, on Tuesday after the second Saturday in September, 1861.' The Covington Journal

1861 April 20---“Falmouth, Ky- A balloon was seen passing at high level elevation over Falmouth, going east-southeast, at 5:30 this morning.” Cincinnati Daily Press

1861 August--In Falmouth, on the corner of Main and Main-Cross streets, on election day, Harrison Barnes opens fire on Joe Bishop and Dan Hampton. Bishop’s son-in-law received the first shot in the small of the back. Bishop, receiving two shots, fell mortally wounded. The ball took effect in the right eye, and he died after being carried into James T. Clark’s saddle shop. Barnes beat a hasty retreat for Foster, and crossed the Ohio River, and was never heard of after. ' Falmouth Outlook' '65 Years Ago' 1917

1861 October--David and Pharis Mefford, father and son, were arrested in Catawba, Kentucky for disloyalty.

1860 December--'The Baptist Churches of Grassy Creek, Crittenden, Unity, Pleasant Ridge, Oak Ridge, Short Creek and Mt. Carmel, compromise 550 members, have organized a new Association, by the name of “Crittenden Association of United Baptists.” The Association will hold its meeting next year with the Grassy Creek Church, Pendleton county, on Tuesday after the second Saturday in September, 1861.' The Covington Journal

1862 [early]-- Samuel Thomas Hauser leaves his position with the railroads for Fort Benton, Montana from where he spent several months prospecting before arriving at the mines in Bannack later in the year.

1862 May--By order of Colonel Warner, the following persons have been arrested in the counties of Grant, Pendleton and Bracken: Shelton Routt, Daniel Haley, John Mains, Peter Routt, Michael Rice, James Woods, John Routt, Lewis Glasscock(?), Johnson Hedgecock, John Clark, Parker Pedecord, Abner Owens, Alexander Dotson, John Perrill, Peter Woods, Joseph Colver, Thomas Morrison and Boon Myers.

1862-1903--Elizabethville Post Office open.

1862 September 17--Harrison County Home Guard [11] under the direction of Captain George W. Berry of Harrison County and Greenberry Reid of Bourbon County skirmish with Confederates [28] in Falmouth. Confederates 5 killed Harrison County Home Guard 1 wounded.

1862 October 6--Confederate sympathizers, anticipating the speedy arrival of the rebel army, take possession of the town of Demossville and seize all the guns there.

1862--Morgan Christian Church started [destroyed by fire; a new brick church structure was built in 1883; current building erected in 1914.]

1865[ish]--Reuben McCarty builds the Woodhead and Sons Funeral Home building.

1863 April--Lieutenant Rickertson, of the Eighteenth Ohio regiment, stationed at Demossville, Ky., having received information that a band of rebels were in the habit of holding meetings at Morris's Mills, in Campbell County, left his camp on the day before yesterday for the purpose of capturing them. He did not find them at Morris's Mills, but two miles further on, near Roushe's house, he captured two men belonging to the guerilla band under "Jim Caldwell." Continuing the pursuit yesterday, Lieutenant Rickertson encamped within "thirty yards of the rebels without either party having a knowledge of it, and this morning Caldwell's party got the start. Lieutenant Rickertson, upon hearing their movement, following in pursuit." The rebels were not overtaken until they reached the vicinity of Germantown, in Mason County, where they were surprised and completely routed. Lieutenant Daniels of the rebel party was killed in the fight that took place. and three others were wounded. Caldwell escaped on a very fleet horse, while his men, except three who were captured, fled to the woods, leaving their horses in the hands of the Nationals. 'Chicago Tribune', as quoted in the Rebellion Record: A Diary of American Events, Volume 6.

1863 June--A number of females were arrested at Demossville and sent south. They were considered a major threat to the US Military and its mission in Kentucky.

1863 October--Major ** Wileman, of the Eighteenth Kentucky regiment, who was wounded in the Battle of Chickamauga, and who lately returned home, was taken from his house, in Pendleton County, Ky….by a gang of guerrillas, stripped of his clothing, tied to a tree, and shot.

1864--“The secesh ladies of the town of Morgan, Ky., feel very unpleasantly--they recently kissed a Federal officer by mistake, supposing him to be a rebel.” Gleason's Literary Companion, Vol. 5

1864 June--A dispatch from Falmouth, Ky., this P.M., says after the Cynthiana defeat to General. Burbridge, General Hobson and part of staff [of General Morgan's Brigade]were sent under guard to Falmouth, but the whole were recaptured by a scouting party and are new at Falmouth.-- Alexandria Gazette, Alexandria, D.C

1864 November 2--Thornton Lafferty, a Pendleton County political prisoner managed to break free and run before the command to fire was given, but he was quickly shot down.

The others were summarily executed. 1865--Bishop Hotel at 237 Main Street is built. [At one time known as the Glenn Hotel.]

1865-- Samuel Thomas Hauser joins with Nathaniel P. Langford to establish a bank in Virginia City. The next year, Hauser founded the First National Bank of Helena. He later opened banks in Fort Benton, Butte, and Missoula.

1865 April 8--Pendleton County court noted a contract between Benjamin Yelton and James Ayars Jr., of Covington, to “dig, bare, and search for petroleum or rock oil or other vegetable of mineral produce” on “a tract of about 2 acres on east bank of Main Licking River near Butler Station on the KCRR & between Roaring Riffle and Lick Creek Riffle, being the piece of ground known as Yelton's Old Salt Mill.

1865 April 19--Samuel Franklin Swope dies; interment in Riverside Cemetery.

1865 August 20--Leonard Moss murdered east of Falmouth.

1865 November--Alexander Plummer and James Barnes put on trial, charged with the murder of Leonard Moss, a discharged Union soldier, in August, 1865; convicted, sentenced to hang.

1865 or 1866--Stowers Station renamed Morgan.

1866 February 5--Kentucky Legislature establishes a criminal court in the 9th District: Bracken, Campbell, Pendleton, Harrison and Kenton counties.

1866--Woodhead Woolen Mills start in Falmouth. [Founded by Joshua Woodhead, father of Joseph.]

1866-67--[For Motier (Carntown)]Also called Stepstone, a small village on the Ohio river, in the northeastern part of Pendleton County, 15 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, 186 by river or 138 by rail from Louisville, and 8 from Butler Station, on the Kentucky Central R.R., its nearest shipping point by rail. Its exports are tobacco, hogs, wheat, corn and wine. Tri-weekly mail. Population 20. H.J. Carnes, postmaster. Three businesses listed.

1866-67--[For Levingood (Hayes Station)] A small village with a population of 25, situated on the north fork of Licking river, in the southern part of Pendleton county, 4 miles from Falmouth, the county seat. It is a station of the Kentucky Central railroad, 56 miles from Lexington, and 150 miles from Louisville. It ships flour, meal and corn. Daily mail. C.C. Cockerill, postmaster. Four businesses listed.

1866-67--[For Peach Grove] A post office located in the northeastern part of Pendleton county, 13 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, 5 from Butler, station on the K.C.R.R., its nearest shipping point, and 143 by rail from Louisville. Weekly mail. John E. Jones, postmaster.

1866-67--[For DeMossville] A station on the Kentucky Central railway, 14 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, and 100 miles from Louisville. The village is situated on the Licking river, in the northern part of Pendleton county. It was first settled in 1851, and incorporated in 1861. Population 60. Tobacco, corn, hogs, cattle and produce are shipped from here. Adams express and daily mail. J.F. Mann, postmaster.

1866-67--[For Catawba] A station of the Kentucky Central railroad, located about the center of Pendleton county, 4 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, 64 miles from Lexington, and 146 miles from Louisville. The settlement here was formed in 1856, is situated on Licking river, and has a population of 100. The chief shipment from this place is tobacco. Express, Adams. Daily mail. Henry T. Morten, postmaster. Four businesses listed.

1866-67--[For Gardnersville] A place of about 50 inhabitants, settled in the northwestern part of Pendleton county, 16 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, 100 miles from Louisville and 6 miles from DeMossville, on the Kentucky Central R.R., its nearest shipping point. Tobacco, hogs and corn are the principal shipments from here. Tri-weekly mail. F. Helmich, postmaster. Five businesses listed.

1866-67--[For Morgan] A station on the Kentucky Central R.R., and small village settled in 1845, and situated on the south fork of Licking river, in the southern part of Pendleton county, 8 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, and 157 miles from Louisville. The shipments from here are cattle, hogs, and produce. Express, Adams. Daily mail. Population, 50. R.H. Dudley, postmaster. Eleven businesses listed.

1866-67--[For Knoxville] A village of 150 inhabitants, settled in 1825 and located in the western part of Pendleton County, 14 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, 10 from De Mossville, on the Kentucky Central R. R., its nearest shipping point, and 145 by rail from Louisville. It contains a steam flouring mill, two churches, Christian and Baptist, and a public school. There are five lodges which hold their meetings here – Masonic, Odd Fellows, Good Templars, Temple of Honor and a range. Livestock and tobacco are the principal shipments from here. Weekly mail. Lewis Helmick, postmaster. Eight businesses listed. 1866-67--[For Boston Station] A village on Licking river, in the southern portion of Pendleton county, and a station of the Kentucky Central R.R. It is 8 miles south of Falmouth, the county seat. Population 200. Lumber, corn and hay are shipped from this place, and Adams Express Co. have an office here. Daily mail. J.W. Hall, postmaster. Six businesses listed.

1866-67--[For Butler] A village of 300 inhabitants, incorporated in 1868. It is a station of the Kentucky Central R.R., located in the northern part of Pendleton county, 11 miles from Falmouth, the county seat, 28 from Covington, and 138 from Louisville.

1866-67--[For Falmouth] The county seat of Pendleton county, a village of 700 inhabitants, is situated at the junction of the two branches of Licking river, about the center of the county. It is a station of the Kentucky Central R.R., 39 miles south of Covington, and 60 miles north of Lexington. Tobacco and livestock are its principal shipments. The Western Union Telegraph and Adams Express Co.'s have offices here. It has a weekly newspaper, the Independent. Daily mail. W.E. Wilson, postmaster. Forty eight businesses listed.

1867-- Samuel Thomas Hauser marries Ellen Farrar of St. Louis.

1867 August 21--Fire at store of J. T. Taylor in Butler (Station).

1867--Sixty foot long steam boiler is purchased by C. L. Myers who uses it to power his flour mill at Wampum.

1867--C. A. Purdy opens his store in Falmouth.

1868 February--Boston Station is incorporated.

1868--Jameson House, 306 Park Street, Falmouth is built. [George W. Jameson, Carpenter]. No longer standing.

1868--Shoemakertown suspension bridge collapses into the river.

1868--St. John's Cemetery (Dividing Ridge) is established.

1868--Mt. Moriah Christian Church built.

1868--Butler is incorporated.

1869 May 22--In Falmouth, A. J. Hall, Esq., of the law offices of Messrs. Stevenson & Myers, shoots and kills an inebriated James Jones in self-defense.

1869 August 26--In Demossville, 'Three young men, at the time and place referrer to, seized three ladies, two of them married, and a child of twelve years and violated their persons, causing the death of the child. This diabolical outrage has caused a great excitement in this county, and a party with ropes have started in pursuit and you may imagine the scene that will be enacted in case of the villains capture.'. The Covington Journal

1869--Browningsville Church renamed The Oakland Christian Church.

1870s-1880s--First McMillian School built by George Washington McMillian on land donated by his parents Robert McMillian Sr. and Sarah Wolfe.

1870 July 29--Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] born, son of Thomas M. & Mary Jane Beckett Barton.

1870--Shoemakertown covered bridge built.

1870-- Samuel Thomas Hauser participates as a member of the Washburn–Langford–Doane Expedition. He was also active in efforts to preserve the Yellowstone area and his lobbying efforts help see the creation of the Yellowstone National Park.

1870--First newspaper in Pendleton County, The Falmouth Independent published by J.K. Wandehlor.

1871 February 22--Kentucky Central Railroad Company incorporates (formerly Kentucky Central Railroad).

1871--St. Paul's Lutheran Church built in Falmouth.

1871--Butler Wooden Covered Bridge is built.

1871--William A. Bradford moves to Morgan, begins medical practice.

1872 November 16--William A. Bradford marries Miss Mildred A. Morris, a native of West Virginia, a daughter of William and Julia (Mitchell) Morris.

1872 March--Coal-oil well on Kincaid Creek explodes and sets fire to a log cabin near it.

1873--Applegate’s Hardware business is established in Falmouth.

1873--Kellum Building, 504 Shelby Street, corner of Park and Shelby Streets, Falmouth is built by George and James Watson. [A grange store is there in 1876, one of the first farmers organization in the county. In later years it is best known as the Kellum home.]

1873 April 12--Luther Martin Kennett interred in Bellefontaine Cemetery, St. Louis, Missouri. The city of Kennett, Missouri is named after him.

1874 February--"There is danger of our county becoming afflicted with mad-dogs. Two have been killed within the past week; one in Demossville and one at Butler." Covington Journal

1874 March--Rebecca Moore burns to death at Catawba. [ She had been burning some brush in preparation to make a tobacco bed, when her clothing caught fire; she was burned so badly that she died almost immediately.]

1874 April--Albert Yeager drowns in Licking river at Wagner’s Ferry.

1874-1906--Lenoxburg Post Office operational.

1874 September--“We have at our office, says the Falmouth Independent, some specimens of Pendleton county coal, given us by Mr. P. F. Keith, who says he thinks he has found it in sufficient quantities to insure success in mining.”

1874--Falmouth Business Directory: Most numerous--six saloons and six attorneys' offices (coincidence?)

1875 February-March--Scarlet fever responsible for numerous deaths in Pendleton County.

1875--Eagles Nest Tavern, West Shelby Street, Falmouth opens.

1875 June 5-- “There is in this county, in Little Kincaid creek, three miles from Falmouth, a rock upon which there is a plain impression of a buffalo’s foot. This curiosity has been known to the local community by citizens of the county for more than eighty years.” Courier-Journal quoting the Falmouth Independent.

1875 June--‘The Ku Klux have visited this neighborhood. They took Henry Winston and his son and son-in-law, beat them nearly to death, and then ordered them to leave, which they did” 'Courier-Journal' [Morgan]

1875 July 7--Kentucky Central Railroad Company takes over the properties of the Kentucky Railroad Association.

1875 August--“We have the authority of John McDonald, Esq., who lives in the Eastern portion of the county, five miles from Falmouth, for saying that a real, genuine wild-cat was captured on his place one day last week. It was perfectly black, and measured four feet and eight inches from tip of nose to tip of tail. Mr. M. informs me that his tenant, who captured the animal, measured the distance from a fence from which he saw it jump to a tree, and it was fifty steps. A big jump, wasn't it?” Louisville Courier-Journal/Falmouth Independent

1876 January 6--'This affiant Malissa Ireton says that on the 17th day of July 1875 she was delivered of a Female Bastard child, that said child was begatten in Pendleton Co. Ky and was born in Clermont County Ohio and the reason for the child being born in the State of Ohio is that her father removed to said State from Pendleton Co. Ky after the child was begatten and before its birth, and she being a member of his family accompanied him; and that her condition was that of a single woman when said child was begatten and born and that Johnson Biddle of Pendleton County Ky is the father of said child.' Attorney John B. Applegate, Court Clerk

1876 January--The hall at Knoxville, erected by a joint stock company, and in which the Odd Fellows, Masons, Grangers, and Good Templars held their regular meetings, was destroyed by fire….. Loss, $3,000; no insurance.

1876 March--Small pox is prevalent in parts of northern/western Pendleton County.

1876 March 16--Estate of William J. Bradford donates land for Bethel Church.

1876--Walter Moore Log House, [present-day] U.S. 27 and Woodson Road, is built [off Hickory Grove Road].

1876--Knoxville Masonic Hall destroyed by fire.

1876 June--Leslie T. Applegate is admitted to the bar.

1876 July 17--A Disastrous fire at Demossville last night totally destroyed the dwelling, store-house and tobacco warehouse of Mr. J. M. Stephens, and also the residence of Dr. McGill. The buildings were of frame and the warehouse contained a quantity of tobacco. The loss can not fall short of about $10,000 or $15,000 for Stephens, $700 of which is covered by insurance in the Aetna. Dr. McGill's residence was uninsured. The fire was evidently the work of an incendiary, as a lot of cotton saturated with turpentine was discovered piled against the warehouse where the flames first broke out. 'The Ticket'

1876 July--Ten to fifteen thousand logs arrive at the Boston boom during the recent rise in the Licking. This will insure two or three months' work for the villagers. Falmouth Independent

1876--The population of Falmouth in 1870 was 614; in 1875 over 900, at this date over 1,000. Showing a rapid increase in the last few years, which is only remarkable since having been established since 1790, and at one time was, in point of importance as well as in population, in advance of Covington and perhaps Louisville.

1877--“In 1877 the western border area around Knoxville in Pendleton County wanted to join Grant County on the pretense that most of its inhabitants worked in Williamstown, but Pendletonians resisted the attempt because too much territory would be lost (thirty-five square miles) they also claimed that the maneuver was simply a Republican gerrymander. In the end the effort failed.” from Robert Ireland's Little Kingdoms: The Counties of Kentucky [unverified]

1877--Knoxville Baptist Church is founded.

1877 February--Jesse Willet, convicted of false swearing, was sentenced to fifteen months in the penitentiary. This is said to be the first conviction of the kind (perjury) ever made in the county.

1877 February--Squire Hume, of Callensville discovered lead ore on the farm of Wesley Hawkins, near Callensville, in Harrison County. [preparations are being made by Joseph Roberts and Robert McCandless to work the mine].

1877 February 18--William Moore, 27, of Callinsville, shoots and kills James Durkin, 25, of Morgan Station, in Callinsville [Moore was drunk] [shooting followed Durkin shaming Moore for abusing Michael Redy, a crippled man].

1877 March 10--Convicted murderer William S. Jackson taken from jail in Falmouth by a lynch mob; shot at close range then hanged.

1877 April--The residence of Mr. Isaac Middleton, near Knoxville, in Pendleton County, was destroyed by fire yesterday. It was a two-story frame house, and valued at two thousand dollars. It was supposed to be the work of an incendiary.

1877 April--An ordinance is passed by the Falmouth City Council prohibiting persons from throwing ashes, etc. on the street or obstructing the sidewalks or streets.

1877 April 29--Residence of Isaac Middleton, near Knoxville, is destroyed by fire [possibly to be the work of an incendiary].

1877--William Moore shoots and kills James Durkin in Callensville.

1877 May--Thieves steal about forty dollars' worth of underwear left to soak in a tub in Mr. ** Herold’s yard on Pike Street, Falmouth; also a half dozen chickens.

1877 May--Catawba again in the lead in tobacco buying.

1877 May--The Boston sawyers took in about twelve thousand logs this Spring, with several more at the Steer Creek boom.

1877 July 7--Hansford Yates, Peter McClanahan, Joe Stites and G. Williams, of Grassy Creek, were arrested in Falmouth as counterfeiters.

1877 July 18--Daughter of John Pribble, age 5, drowns in Middle Fork of Grassy Creek.

1877 August 2--Falmouth's Centennial Mills promotes itself as "one of the best mills in the state".

1877 August --'Some three months since a man named Durkin was killed in a bar-room in Callensville, Pendleton county, by one William Moore. Since that time Moore has been a fugitive from justice, and nothing had been heard of him until last Saturday night, when Deputy Sheriff's Mullins and Pendergest, learning of his where abouts, started in pursuit of him. They found their man camping out in the woods near Callensville, and walked up and arrested him, he making no resistance, as it would have been useless. They put their prisoner on a horse and landed him safely in the Falmouth Jail last night. While en route for Falmouth the prisoner made an attempt to escape by starting his horse on a brisk run, but the beast slipped, throwing its rider, whom the officers promptly secured.' The Ticket Covington, Ky.

1877 August--Residence of N. W. Neal of DeMossville robbed.

1877--N. B. Chipman begins medical practice at Goforth [after 12 years, relocates to Falmouth.]

1877 September--The Criminal Court in Falmouth adjourned on Friday evening to meet on Monday. Both the murder cases, i.e. William Moore, for the killing of John Durkin, and John Donnelly for that of Martin Brand, are set for Monday, the latter being first on the docket. The Ticket Covington, Ky.

1877 September--In Falmouth, Boone and Dow Antrobus found guilty of breaking and entering; sentenced to two and one half years in the state penitentiary.

1877 September--Falmouth. 'The schools, three in number, are well patronized and in efficient working order. Prof. Harding's select school has fifty-four pupils.' Falmouth Independent

1877 October--Pendleton Co. Morgan Station; Mike Coleman is very sick. Joe Douglass is dangerously ill. John Dance has been confined to his bed for several weeks.

1877 October--Mr. ** Vankirk, of Falmouth, found dead, a victim of apparent accidental suicide while hunting.

1877 October--The heirs of the late Thomas Corwin succeeded at the present term of our Circuit Court having the will set aside and will now come in as full heirs to the property.

1877 October--'Insecticide-The Journal of Chemistry says that hot alum water is the best insect destroyer known. Put the alum into hot water and let it boil till all the alum is dissolved, then apply it hot with a brush to all cracks, closets, bedsteads, and other places where any insects are to be found. Ants, bed bugs, cockroaches and creeping things are killed by it; while it has no danger of poisoning the family or injuring property.' Daily Commonwealth

1877 October--Prisoner Andy Hall escapes from Jailer James Johnson in Falmouth.

1877 October-- “Browningsville, in Pendleton county, was the scene of another shooting affray yesterday between two doctors, partners, in which Dr. VanHook shot and seriously wounded his partner, Dr. Riggs. The quarrel was occasioned by a dispute about a bill, and angry words followed, resulting as above. The ball entered in such a manner as will probably prove fatal.” from the Covington Ticket

1877 October--M. D. (Hank) Sorrell shot and killed by J. B. Kidwell in Holt's Saloon in Butler.

1877 October--Thomas Dance, popularly known as "Stumpy" Dance, died at his home in Callensville, after a long and painful illness. He was confined to the house for three months.

1877 October--"Last week Thos. Hume, a young man of the neighborhood of Roanoke, in this county, and Bob Asbury, of the same place went to Williamstown, Grant Co., and got into a bar-room quarrel with some other parties. Hume drew a pistol and shot at Frank Asbury, a cousin of Bob Asbury, when Asbury took hold of the pistol in such a manner as to cause Hume to shoot himself, so that he died in a few days and was buried near Callensville. Another victim of mean whiskey, and the foolish practice of carrying weapons of deadly nature." Daily Commonwealth Covington, Ky.

1877 October 23--"The heaviest rain that has fallen for years, fell here [Morgan Station] last Saturday [October 20]. It fell in sheets for about an hour. It was the first sheet rain this writer ever saw fall." Daily Commonwealth Covington, Ky..

1877 November--Henry Bradford begins building a racetrack on Edward Cummins' farm near Boston for training horses.

1877 November--Water shortage in Blanket Creek.

1877 November--Kentucky Central Railroad builds sidewalks from depot to Hall's Corner in Falmouth.

1877 November---Noticeable increase in Whooping Cough cases in Greenwood.

1877 November---From 'The Daily Commonwealth', ''A wicked horse, engaged in hauling a barrel of Cowle's whiskey, fell dead on his arrival at Boston…Now who will deny that whiskey is a terrible destroyer?''

1877 November--Typhoid fever ravaging Falmouth.

1877 December--Edward Huddleston opens blacksmith shop in Butler.

1877 December--“Falmouth – The blue ribbons [a temperance group] are still on the rampage, and expect to close their labors here this week, gong to Butler, Demossville and Boston. They claim to have between five hundred and six hundred disciples in this place. You can see big and little, whites and blacks, at every corner, with the inevitable strip of blue pinned to their lapels.” 'The Daily commonwealth'

1878 April 16--Six prisoners escape from Falmouth jail [convicted of murdering Hank Sorrell].

1878--Pleasant Ridge Cemetery is established.

1878--Boston Steele log house. The structure is the second oldest house in Pendleton County [now at Kincaid Lake State Park].

1878 December--Thomas Purvies injured by shotgun blast of Mr. ** Feree at Christmas celebration in Ferriesville.

1878-1879--Greenwood Post Office open {sometimes called the 'Greenwood Hill Post Office'].

1879-1902--Mt. Auburn Post Office operational.

1879--Theodore [Thomas] Bradford opens his store in Falmouth.

1879 January--Heavy, above normal snow accumulation reported throughout the county.

1879 February--Jesse Vice kills James Allender, brothers-in-law, with an axe following verbal argument in Falmouth.

1879--[for Butler 'A station and post office on the KC Railroad in the northern part of Pendleton County, 11 miles north of Falmouth, the county seat, and 111 miles north of Louisville. It has a stream, saw and flouring mill, two congregational churches: a Methodist and a Christian church. Exports tobacco. Adams Express. Daily mail. Population, 500. R.T. Watson, postmaster.' Kentucky State Gazetteer

1879 April--“Demossville – Our census will show about one hundred and fifty inhabitants; one blacksmith shop, two stores, one tailor shop, one laboratory, two livery stables, one cooper shop and other industries which usually go to make up a first-class country town. Our people are just a t this time reaping an immense harvest in the way of cheap goods at our two stores, one kept by J. G. Daugherty, and the other by the old tried and true Uncle Aaron Threasher, who has added to his stock of goods a full line of ready made clothing. Both say they will not be under sold by anyone.” 'Daily Commonwealth'

1879 August--Saloon owned by J. E. Gifford burglarized in Falmouth.

1879 August--Centennial Mills in Falmouth renovated.

1879 August--Court cleared in Falmouth in Minerva Millinor v. Susan Millinor for 'inappropriate language'.

1879 September 15--False alarm. Citizens of Holt's Creek, Pribble's Crossroads [Mt. Auburn] form a mob following rumor of a lynching.

1879 September--At Boston, William Wallace, Hannibal Fields and John Fields were tried before Judge Sine for trespassing on Jon Lyons. William and Hannibal were discharged, and John Fields held over for the Criminal Court.

1879 September--At Blanket Creek, ''Improvements abound here; farmers are being relieved of their surplus rubbish, houses being repainted and neat fences are being built. Such is the enthusiasm instilled into our neighborhood lately.''

1879 September--'Death bed confession' of penitentiary prisoner admits to murder of long-missing William H. Hathaway of Boston Station, sinking the body in the Licking River.

1879 September--Jim Madison of Butler starts a watch repairing business at his boot and shoe shop.

1879 September--In Boston Station, ague, once widespread, appears to be lessening.

1879 September and October-- Sale of Land and Stone on Licking River .

1879 October 6--A. F. Hamilton arrested in Butler for carrying concealed weapons. Held over to Criminal Court.

1879 October--William Rawlins, Sr. of Peach Grove reports one vine supporting fourteen pumpkins.

1879 October--Theodore Sparks of Peach Grove is bitten by a copperhead while cutting tobacco. Full recovery expected soon.

1879 October--In Boston, it's only a rumor that J. B. Kidwell, convicted killer of M. D. Sorrell, received clemency from the governor.

1879 October--In Greenwood Hill, Benjamin Kidwell injured when his wagon rolls over his ankle, breaking it.

1879 October--Second 12 Mile church renovated by carpenters Perry and Banks.

1879 October 15 --"Rev. H. B. Blackburn of Falmouth has been employed by the white Baptist Church, while at Robinson Station, to preach a year for them.:

1879 October 15 --"J. H. Baker, a colored man, shipped last night 1,150 pounds of bones to Cincinnati. He gathered them up around Falmouth.." The Kentucky Post

1879 December--Flooding of Licking River.

1879 October 18--"Robert Forsen, Falmouth's colored barber, yesterday took a poisonous drug. He had been to Cincinnati during the election and returned home Thursday evening. Dr. Barbour is attending him. His condition is a dangerous one. He had been drinking freely." The Kentucky Post

1879 December 9--"The colored folks of Falmouth have a festival this week to raise money for the support of their school. They say if they don't get help in some way their school will be discontinued. There are about 100 colored children in Falmouth of school age and they draw in the neighborhood of $30 in public money. So they have to make the supplement by subscription or otherwise." The Kentucky Post

1879 December--Saw mill torn from its foundation at Boston Station by the flood.

1879 December--Fred Stagman on one of the barges which is carried off by the flood in Licking River, narrowly escaped drowning while scrambling ashore.

1880--Morgan Cemetery started.

1880--Post Office is established at Short Creek. City's name changed from Short Creek to Goforth.

1879 December 31--"An examination of the system of schools for colored students will probably find the matter has not been handled as the law requires. The law says all taxes from deeds, suits and license from colored people --- minus attorney costs --- should go toward the finding of colored schools. There are 151 colored male voters in Pendleton County and yet no tax dollars from such taxes, was reported collected during the past year. Let there be a searching investigation of the subject and learn who is wronged and who has done the wrong." The Kentucky Post

1880 September 12--St. Frances Xavier Roman Catholic Church is dedicated.

1881--[for Bachelors Rest] Located in the southern part of Pendleton county, is the village of Bachelors Rest, containing a population of 100.The nearest shipping point is Falmouth, 6 miles north, which is the county seat. A saw and grist mill, 2 churches and a school are sustained. Produce is marketed. Semi-weekly mail. Laban Mains, postmaster.

1881--[for Levingood] On the K. C. R.R., 4 miles south of Falmouth, the county seat. 150 miles northeast of Louisville and in the northern part of Pendleton county. Daily mail. Population 50. C. C. Cockerill, postmaster.

1881--[for Catawba] Located on the Licking river, which, furnishes power, in Pendleton county, 4 miles North of Falmouth, the seat of justice and bank location. Ship direct via K.C. R.R. Tobacco and grain form the exports, and the village maintains a Baptist church and common school. Population 100. Express Adams. Mail daily. H. T. Morton, postmaster.

1881--[for Motier] A post office, small settlement and landing on the Ohio river, sometimes called Stepstone Landing in Pendleton county. 18 miles northeast of Falmouth, the county seat and 180 northeast of Louisville. Butler 8 miles east on the K. C. R.R., is the nearest railroad approach. Population about 40 persons. Ships tobacco, grain and livestock. Mail daily. H. J. Carnes, postmaster.

1881--C. C. Hagemeyer & Co. take possession of the Butler Mills. .

1881--[for Dividing Ridge] A small post office in Pendleton county, 11 miles west of Falmouth, the county seat and shipping point. 150 from Louisville. DeMossville is 6 miles distant and the shipping point. Weekly mail. J. H. Gardner, postmaster.

1881--[for Gardnersville] In the northern part of Pendleton County. Falmouth, the county seat, east of Crittenden, its nearest shipping point on the C. S. R’y and 100 northeast of Louisville. Tri-weekly mail. Population 20. F. Helmich, postmaster.

1881--C. C. Hagemeyer & Co. open The Butler Mills [flour, lumber and planing mills].

1881--Roanoke Christian Church is established.

1881 February-- Joseph Porter of Pendleton County and Thomas J. Isaacs of Williamstown engaged in a quarrel one Monday night at a late hour in George Burgess' Saloon. Isaacs drew something in the shape of brass knuckles, striking Porter over the head several times. Marshall Gouge arrived at the scene and at once arrested Issacs. While in his custody, Isaacs hit the marshall over the head with his brass knuckles and escaped. After a long chase, Tom Isaacs was not caught. Later on, Porter died. [About a year later, Tom Isaacs was caught and arrested on Terrell's Creek in Jackson County, Kentucky. He was brought back to Williamstown for trial. He was later put under a $3,000.00 bond. He, not having that much money, ten people in the area put up $300.00 each and the court set him free to appear for his trial at a later date. He never appeared for his trial and is said to have gone to Indiana and lived there until he was quite an old man. Wanting to clear his record before he died, he came back to Willliamstown and turned himself over to the law. Seeing the condition he was in and his advanced age, he never came to trial and died a free man.]

1881--Bethel church is dedicated.

1881 May--The women of Lenoxburg visited a saloon-keeper by the name of Pugh, who had just started a bar-room in their quiet neighborhood, and presented a petition signed by every lady in the city asking him to quit this nuisance business. He became much enraged and threatened to kick them out if they returned.

1881 August 23-- Wesley M. Rardin admitted to the bar. Now practicing in the Kentucky Court of Appeals. [The senior member of the law firm of Rardin & Rardin; brother, C. A. Rardin.]

1881 July--[Advertisement from newspaper:]
Lightfoot House
Main St. opposite Court House
Falmouth, Ky.
G. C. Lightfoot, Proprietor
Rates- reasonable. Saloon supplied with liquors and cigars

1882--Gum Lick Baptist church built [organized 1881; second church was built in 1929; current structure opened April 1972].

1882-1903--Kinkead Post Office operational.

1883 March 27--'Jesse Willett, a colored barber…obtained two watches from F. G. Held & Co., jewelers here, under false pretense, and got a gold chain from Edward Aulick, bartender for W. W. Culbertson, in the same way, and skipped the town by the afternoon train. A telegram revealed; that he stopped off at Cynthiana, and Charles Held and Aulick left on the night express for that city, to try and hunt him down. Willett narrowly escaped the penitentiary on a similar charge a few years ago.' The Daily Commonwealth

1883 April--Dr. Chipman, of Short Creek, cut off the leg of Peter Ford's, twelve year old son…. The doctor was assisted by Drs. Chipman & Stewart, of Berryville. Cause of amputation, ossification of the bone at the knee had set in. The child is doing well at present. The Daily Commonwealth.

1883 April--Dick Lowe of Gardnersville was thrown from a horse and bruised up considerably. The Daily Commonwealth

1883-84--William A. Bradford represents Pendleton County in the State Legislature.

1883 September--Pleasant Hill Christian Church established .

1883--Morgan Christian Church destroyed by fire; a new brick church structure is built.

1883 December--F. P. Webb, engaged in digging a cellar on his new farm, unearthed the remains of a mastodon.

1884--R. F. Shaw, Butler, opens his first store.

1884--Baptist church is built in Butler.

1884--Third courthouse completed in Falmouth.

1884 September--Samuel Bowman attempted to beat his wife at Knoxville, Ky., with a broom because his breakfast was not ready in time. She seized a knife, and stabbed him seven times, inflicting fatal wounds.

1884--W.M. Applegate House 410 Maple Street, Falmouth was built by Mr. Applegate, an attorney.

1844 December--Public Sale--A tract of land ''lying in Pendleton county, Ky. on Stepstone Creek, about one mile from Foster's lower Landing on the Ohio River, and two miles from the mouth of said creek. This tract of land is somewhat broken, but produces fine crops, and is very valuable on account of Timber so convenient to market, about 70 acres is under cultivation. There is also a good hewed log dwelling house on said land and other out houses. The balance is well timbered; said tract containing 283 acres.''

1884--Mt. Moriah Christian Church starts. 1910 destroyed by fire; 1911 new building erected.

1884--Leslie T. Applegate is a presidential elector from the Sixth Kentucky Congressional District.

1884--George Colvin Lightfoot dies.

1885-- Magoburgh Post Office open [one year only].

1885[ish]--Oakland Cemetery is established.

1885 July 3-- Samuel Thomas Hauser becomes the first territorial resident to be appointed Governor of Montana Territory after President Grover Cleveland appoints him to the position.

1886 July 26--Guy Wood Chipman is born in Falmouth, Kentucky. Graduate of West Point Military Academy in 1910. He had a long and distinguished military career. He was the first commander of Camp (now Fort) Campbell, in Ky. He died in San Antonio Texas November 5, 1988 at the age of 102.

1886 December--In order to free himself to concentrate on his business activities, Samuel Thomas Hauser submits his resignation.

1887-1903--Penhurst Post Office open.

1887 February--At Butler, the Licking River is within a few inches of the highest mark known [which was in 1854].

1887--Caddo Post Office opens.

1887 June 15--Leslie T. Applegate marries Sally Menzies, daughter of Judge John Menzies.

1887-1903--Mains Post Office open.

1888 [ish]--Champion Milling Company opens in Falmouth.

1888--John Edwin Wilson begins his practice of medicine in Falmouth.

1889--Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church belfry bell is purchased.

1899 May--Brushy Ridge residents are greatly exercised over the appearance there of what they claim to be a genuine ghost. [unclear whether this actual news or The Butler Enterprise editor's 'joke'.]

1889 June 1--The Butler Enterprise to be published by the Enterprise Publishing Co., with Eddie Barton as editor. [Barton was formerly the editor of The Butler Enterprise .]

1889 June--Vandalism of city property a concern in Falmouth.

1889 June--Butler Methodist Church adopts a plan of having a children's meeting on Saturday before the first Sunday in each month at 3 o'clock p.m.

1889 June 2--Sunday school will be organized at Portland.

1889 June 11--Strawberry Festival, hosted by Misses Tillie, Carrie and Emma Peal of the Butler Baptist Church.

1889 June--H.H. Hall's general store in Butler is now selling buggies.

1889 June-- The Butler Enterprise publishes Church Directory for churches in and around Butler.

1889 June--'The Camp Meeting Chronicle' is the paper for the Bethel Grove camp.

1889 June--H.H. Hall, one of Butler's most successful merchants is branching out. He is now an undertaker.

1889--Miss S. Viola Moore closes her school at Morgan.

1889 July--Cider Saloon started by Ben Mullins in Catawba.

1889 July-- The Butler Enterprise --"Whiskey is the cause of nearly all crime, disorder and misery. Strike it out, and strikes will end; tramp it out and tramps will be few; murder it, and murders will cease; stab it to the heart, and hearts will not be stabbed; put an everlasting end to the mean thing, and meanness will be the exception, instead of the rule. Set fire to it - burn the last barrel and bottle, and fewer souls will burn in hell.''

1889 July-- The Butler Enterprise advertisement--Bottled Electricity, the only catarrh and headache cure. It cures catarrh, headache, neuralgia, hay fever, failing eyesight -- all aches and pains. Call on or address G.W. Scott, Butler, Ky.

1889 July--Pendleton County Officials.--Jno. H. Barker, Judge; R.W. Holland, Attorney; J.D. Logan, Sheriff; Chas Lee and Dan Fositt, deputy sheriff; J.U. Riggle, Treasurer; E.F. Bradford, Snpt. of Pub. Schools; W.C. Holt, Clerk; Jas. K. Wandelohr, Circuit Clerk; Jas M. Adams, Jailer; R.M. Anderson, Coroner; ----- Assessor; Albert Colbert, Surveyor; Dr. Roberts, Com. of Poor; Geo F. Henry, Physician; Wm. Ballinger, Poor House Keeper., Geo. R. Rule, Master Commissioner.

1889 July 6-- “The new toll-gate house on the Butler and Greenwood Pike is now completed and will soon be occupied by Mrs. Bell. This improvement should be followed by the road being repaired that it will not be so muddy when it rains.” Butler Enterprise

1890--Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] admitted to Kentucky Bar.

1890--Simpson School built on Center Ridge Road near Gardnersville.

1890--McDonald House 210 Chapel Street, Falmouth was built by the McDonald family.

1890--W. T. Voiers becomes a partner with C. F. Peoples to form Peoples & Voiers General Store in Butler.

1890[ish]--Gumlick Cemetery is established.

1890--E.F. Bradford House 205 Maple Street, Falmouth is built by Mr. Bradford, a local business man and county school superintendent. He was also a Mayor of Falmouth.

1890 October 12--Jeff Bray shoots and kills Thornton Lucas in Falmouth.

1890-1902--Ossipee Post Office operational.

1891---Oldham & Dunstall (undertakers) established in Falmouth.

1891-- Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] completes legal education at George Washington University [LL.B.].

1891--Law firm of Applegate and Colvin is formed.

1891-1903--Four Oaks post office is in operation.

1891--Chipman House 901 West Shelby Street, Falmouth is built by Dr. N.B. Chipman in. It remained in the Chipman family until 1980.

1891-1903--Wampum Post Office operational.

1892--Bradford House 302 East Shelby Street, Falmouth is built by Henry Bullock. [The house had remained in the same family until Mrs. George (Mary) Bradford died . and was still furnished with many of the original furnishings.]

1892 June--Bill Dance shoots, kills ** Perry at Gum Lick.

1892-1896--Dividing Ridge Post Office open.

1892 October 3--Butler Deposit Bank is established.

1892--Assembly Building – northeast corner of Main and Shelby Streets, Falmouth, originally was owned by Gus Schubert, opens.

1893-1909--Ivor Post Office operational.

1894--Turner Ridge (Elizabethville; also known as Modock [Modoc Ridge and Oak Hill Ridge) Cemetery is established.

1895 April 1-- Falmouth Post Office raised to ''Office of the Third Class''

1895-1904--Tur Post Office operational.

1895 August--Hezekiah Roberts, a young farmer, living in the northwestern part of Pendleton county (four miles southwest of Butler), killed himself this morning by cutting his throat. He first cut his wife's throat, and, thinking he had killed her, took his own life. ..This is the fourth time Roberts had attempted this tragic deed. A short time ago he was pronounced insane, by Dr. Smith, of Butler, but for some unknown reason he was not committed to the asylum.

1895 November 27--Butler Cemetery Company incorporates. The company has 7 principals on record. The incorporators are Ann Campbell, Billy Corbin, H L Ammerman, Howard Johnson, and James Yelton. [ANN CAMPBELL Secretary BILLY CORBIN Director BILLY CORBIN Treasurer H L AMMERMAN Director HOWARD JOHNSON Director JAMES YELTON President

1896 April 24--Leo Bird, a free love preacher who spent the winter here [Falmouth] preaching his new faith, is badly beaten when returning from his church to his home and ordered to leave town. He left at once, or in all likelihood he would have been lynched. His methods and his doctrines were extremely distasteful to many in this section. Bird hails from Dayton, KY where he is said to have a wife and child whom he refuses to support.

1896--N. B. Chipman, President of The Old Tub Fowler Distillery Company [Bourbon whiskey]

1896--The Pendleton Bank, Falmouth organized.

1896 December--O. B. Gayle's store opens in Falmouth. [Purchases the interests of M. J. T. Boulton, druggist.]

1897 February--Flooding of Licking River 27.8 feet.

1897 March--F. S. McMillian's Store established [formerly A. T. Hamilton & Co.].

1897--Morgan School is built [two wood frame buildings] [in 1915, brick Morgan School is built; 'later' the gymnasium is attached to this building; 2012--the gymnasium--was taken down.]

1897 November--W. E. Bishop's Livery, Feed & Sales Stable opens. [William E. Bishop purchased the interest of T. J. Hackett, and is now sole owner of the livery, feed and sale stable formerly conducted under the firm name of Bishop & Hackett].

1897-1898--Ernst Post Office operational.

1898-1905--Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] elected Representative in the Kentucky Legislature.

1898 January 10--Professor B. L. Frye of Butler admitted to practice law in Kentucky.

1898 May--Butler Graded School Board of Education: W. H. Harding, Chairman; Edward Yelton, Secretary; T. H. Talbott, Treasurer, and H. H. Marshall, A. J. Grant, W. Holmes and C. F. Peoples. There are now 256 pupils enrolled, occupying four rooms, with three teachers and a principal.

1899 June--'The Camp Meeting Chronicle' is the paper for the Bethel Grove camp meeting.

1899 June-H. H. Hall, Butler merchant, announces remodeling and enlargement of his store with markedly increased amount of stock.

1899 July--Toll-gate house on the Butler-Greenwood Pike is completed.

1899 July- -Butler
POLICE JUDGE -- J.J. Yelton.
TOWN ATTORNEY and CLERK -- James E. Ellis.
MARSHALL -- James Doyle.
COLLECTOR -- Wm. Randall.
TRUSTEES -- Chauncey Forward, Robert Yelton, Silas Becket, Wm. H. Harding. CIVIL COURTS, Regular Term -- Third Saturday in February, May, August, and November.
MAGISTRATES COURTS -- Will L. Bonar, and B.B. Hensly, Magistrates; John F. Henderson, Constable.
Will L. Bonar's Court on the 3rd Thursdays, and B.B. Hensly's on the 4th Thursdays in March, June, September and December.

1899 August 2--William Munday [Company D. 100th Regiment, US Colored Infantry ] dies of apoplexy, paralysis and general debilitation.

1899 October 12--Boston Steele dies in Concord, Pendleton County, Kentucky, and is buried in the Lenoxburg Cemetery, Lenoxburg, Bracken County, Kentucky.

1899 December--Pendleton County precinct officers:
Falmouth - D. W. Fossitt and Geo. F. Henry, judges; Rugus Wright, clerk.
McKinneysburg – I. W. Wright and Jno. R. Holms, judges; Rufus Wright, clerk.
Bachelors Rest – Thomas C. Browning and Joe Hamilton, judges; C. C. Wright, clerk. Bonars – W. E. Grimes and Hanison Fields, judges; George Blythe, clerk.
Sandsuck – S. W. Fossitt and W. J. Warder, judges; M. G. Rouse, clerk.
Gardnersville – Wm. Caldwell and Wm. F. Clark, judges; Wm. Cahill, clerk.
Demossville – Jas. Cahill and R. M. Mullins, judges; B. M. Mullins, clerk.
McNay – Ben Cook and Jno. Cahill judges; Jack Gardiner, clerk.
Short Creek – Thos. Gulick and O. S. Dougherty, judges; W. T. Payne, clerk.
Callensville – J. C. Brann and J. W. Clemons, judges; Ervin Thompson, clerk.
Butler – Ed. Colbert and J. W. Corbin, judges; Will Bonar, clerk.

1899--Ridgway House 503 Maple Street, Falmouth is built by N.C. and Ada Ridgway.


Top

1700s

1800s


1900--High School is established at Butler.

1900 March--Rural free delivery routes are established in Kentucky.

1900 April 8--''Representative Berry, of Kentucky, today requested the Post office Department to revoke, or at least to suspend, the order establishing the . . . Butler rural free delivery routes in Kentucky. Strong opposition from the patrons of . . . Ossipee and Mt. Auburn Post offices is responsible for Mr. Berry's request.“ Cincinnati Enquirer

1900 August--The hog crop in Pendleton and adjoining counties is reported to be very short.

1900 August--John Conroy, 28, son of P. J. Conroy, died after continually ingesting tobacco over several years. [Seven years ago, his habit of eating tobacco, not chewing it or smoking its leaves began. Five years ago, his physical and mental health declined precipitously. He was put in a sanitarium. Released, he returned home. Two years ago, his habit resumed, leading to his death at his parents' home in August of 1900.]

1900 August 10---First road crossing by a train south of Butler (where the underpass is now).

1900 December--Morgan Barlow, convicted of horse stealing, who escaped five years ago, is recaptured in Pendleton County.

1900 December--[Knoxville] ''A petition in bankruptcy was filed in the United States Court here to-day by Melvin E. Thompson and his brother, who were formerly in business here. The liabilities are $198,000; assets, $128,000. Melvin E. Thompson was twice mayor of Knoxville.” Indianapolis News

1900-1914--Second McMillian School built by George's sons , Walter Cassius "Cash" McMillian, Leslie Hannon "Les" McMillian and Odious Thomas "Tom" McMillian. [Operated until 1931 when it was closed in preparation for opening of the new Portland School.]

1901--Chipman House, 901 West Shelby Street, Falmouth is built by N.B. Chipman.

1901--Stop-n-Tell Restaurant opens.

1901-1905--Ezra post office open.

1902 January--Pleasant Hill Christian Church burned; rebuilt in September, 1902.

1902-1905--Pindell Post Office open.

1902 September--Pleasant Hill Christian Church rebuilt.

1903--Pendletonian newspaper is published by J.R. Williams [for eight years]

1903 Phoenix Hotel, on the southwest corner of Main and Shelby Streets, Falmouth, opened for business, owned by George E. Ross.

1904--The Farmers Bank of Morgan organized.

1904--Much attention is now being devoted to discovering or breeding a strain of bees with tongues long enough to reach the nectar in the flower tubes of red clover. In 1900 the A. I. Root Company offered a prize for the bees having the longest tongues. This was awarded to Mr. J. P. Moore of Morgan, Ky., whose bees were found to have tongues measuring 23/100's of an inch in length . (Ordinary bees measure but 16/100.) This length of tongue enables the bees to secure nectar from most of the flower tubes of red clover, and thus to fill their hives with honey that common bees cannot reach--from the Public Documents of Massachusetts

1904 July16---Olive Mullins (the daughter of Matthew Mullins) sells the property where Woodhead and Sons funeral home is now located to N.C. Ridgway.

1904--Alternate delegate [N.C. Ridgway] to The Republican National Convention of 1904.

1905--Pendleton County Farmer's Fire Insurance Company opens.

1907 January 28-- George Newkirk found guilty of first degree murder of his aunt, Mary Cookendorfer, by the Pendleton County Circuit Court Grand Jury.

1907 February 4--George Newkirk sentenced to 21 years imprisonment for murdering his aunt, Mary Cookendorfer.

1907--The Falmouth Outlook is founded by Warren Shonert, Sr.

1907 November 29--A telephone exchange is established on the second floor of the Butler Deposit Bank Building.

1908 May 5--Short Creek Baptist Church burns [rebuilt 1909].

1907--The McBride House, 401 Main Street, Falmouth, is built. Is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in March of 1983.

1908--Falmouth Outlook 'Letters to Santa'.
Dear Santa Clause: I would like you to bring me a wagon, cp, drum, a pair of overshoes and anything else you want me to have. From your little boy, Howard Fossett
Dear Santa Claus: I am a little girl six years old and live a half a mile from McKenneysburg. I want a doll, a doll bed, a little piano, a set of dishes, some candy, apples, bananas, oranges and figs. Yours Truly, Gertrude Whalen.

1909 May--Short Creek Baptist Church rebuilt, dedicated.

1909 November--N. B. Chipman elected to Kentucky Senate.

1909 February--Major flooding of Licking River 37.8 feet.

1909--Board of Education establishes high schools in Falmouth, Butler and Morgan.

1909--Frank Browning, Falmouth native, minor and major league pitcher, wins 16 consecutive games.

1909 April--J. T. McNay, one of our prosperous farmers near Goforth, has purchased a fine two-seat, 22-horse-power automobile. He bought it in Cincinnati and his brother, Frank, of that city, brought it out on last Thursday. This is only auto in the county.

1909 August--In Falmouth Ernest Cookendorfer, 5 year old son of Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Cookendorfer , seriously ill from lockjaw. [presumed fatal]

1910 March--The large barn of J.W. Whalen near McKenneysburg, containing 5,000 pounds of tobacco, a lot of farming implements and vehicles, burned to the ground.

1910 March--Thomas Clayton, aged 70 years, met with a tragic death by drowning at his home near McKenneysburg . [Mr. Clayton and little grandson went to a large spring near his home for a bucket of water and in stooping over to fill the vessel, it is thought that he became dizzy and fell head first in the spring, which is several feet deep. The old gentleman was very feeble and could not get out. His little grandson was too small to render assistance but ran to a neighbor's. When help arrived it was too late.]

1910 May--Miss Eva Cummins, daughter of Henry Clay Cummins found a watch Tuesday on the place of Mrs. Sarah Aulick, near Hightower. She found the watch hanging by a fob in a white oak bush. The watch was lost by Welburn Guy, of Fort Thomas, Thanksgiving day 1907, while he was out hunting. At the time a search was made for it, but in vain. The fob caught in the bushes and it was lifted from his vest pocket. The watch was wound up and it started off running like a new time piece, after standing the weather for more than 2 1/2 years. Mr. Guy had offered a reward for the watch, but about one year ago he died. The watch will be sent to his family.

1910 May--R.C. Dilts removed the bodies of the Robbins family from the graveyard on the place now owned by E.S. Clarke to Riverside Cemetery. [This was the burying ground of the family of the late Augustus Robbins and was used for the purpose for upwards to 75 years. ''Some of the bodies were buried in metallic coffins more than 60 years ago and are still in good state of preservation''.]

1910 June--Cadet Guy Wood Chipman, son of Dr. N.B. Chipman, will receive his diploma from the United States Military Academy at West Point, on June 10th.

1910 June--From the Cynthiana Democrat, ''Wife of William Hall, colored, was accidentally shot by a gunshot fired by her husband. ''

1910 July--Willis Owens, 15, son of Marshall Owens, formerly of Pendleton, was struck by lightning and killed while loading hay with his father near Harrison, OH.

1910 August--Mrs. S.B. Fowler, of near Sunrise, buys the E. Curtis farm containing 118 1/2 acres situated near Lenoxburg. Price $22 acre.

1910 August 18--Harrison Reed of Browning's Corner accidentally shoots and kills Adolphus Verselle, a boy 16 years old.

1910 November--Albert Turner purchases the 40 acre farm of James Lloyd.

1910 November 9-- Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] marries Louise Brandt, daughter of Charles & Magdaline Brandt.

1910 December 11--Mt. Moriah Christian Church destroyed by fire; 1911 new building erected.

1911--New school built near Gardnersville to replace the Simpson School.

1911 January--Jane Watkins, aged 22, was burned to death at her home near Four Oaks. [Her clothing caught fire from an open grate.]

1911 February--E. L. Barnes buys 22 acres near Antioch Mills from J. F. Woolery.



1911 June--Tim Hayes closed his distillery at Levingood after a run of six months. [In later years, Hayes would revolutionize the industry and found and operate the largest distillery in the country.]

1911--Jason Shoemaker sells his livery stable to N. C. Ridgway.

1911--Mt. Moriah Christian Church rebuilt.

1911 May--''For three weeks the jail doors have stood open. There is absolutely no drunkenness or disorder in or around Falmouth.'' Cynthiana Democrat, Thursday, 18 May 1911.

1911 November--L. D. Hall charged, convicted of murder of Elijah Woods; sentenced in February of 1912.

1911--Iron fence is built across the front at Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church.

'1912 January--John T. Jett has bought most of the tobacco in the Foster section at from 8 cents to 9 cents .

1912 January--The case of L. D. Hall, charged with the murder of Elijah T. Woods, was called in Circuit Court.

1912 January--Senator N. B. Chipman and Representative John F. Fryer have been placed on important committees in the Senate and House.

1912 January--"Uncle" Norvel Dougherty and his mule were out skating on the ice at Grassy Creek.

1912 January--The case of L. D. Hall, charged with the murder of Elijah T. Woods, is called in Circuit Court.

1912 January--'J. W. Mann blew into our midst one day last week and P. E. Glacking bought from him his farm containing 45 acres.' Falmouth Outlook

1912 January--Fannie Mullins, widow of Richard Mullins, was found dead at her home near Demossville.

1912 January--'Speaking of aids to agriculture, there is the cut-worm which volunteers to cut the farmer's corn long before he is ready to do it himself.' Falmouth Outlook

1912 January--W. L. Howard and Charlie Wright buy 109 acres of land of J. E. Blades, known as the J. R. Lea farm, situated on the Blanket Creek pike, for $1,200.

1912 January--William Flynn came before the City Council and asking permission to store gasoline and oil on the line of George Lowe on Rigg St., with the intention of starting a distributing wagon.

1912 January--An ordinance is passed providing for the sale of $7,500 worth of bonds to erect the city electric light plant, and make a levy of 12 cents on the $100 to create a sinking fund to pay interest and principal. 1912 January--'Len Cram took a trip to Greensburg, Ind., last week to see his brother, William who was reported sick. He found his brother better, but he had the misfortune of getting his house destroyed by fire last week.' Falmouth Outlook

1912 January--The newly elected officers for the town of Foster take the oath of office January 1st. Police Judge, E. W. McAtee; Mayor, J. B. Slack; clerk, L. T. Craig; treasurer, J. B. Hiles; trustees, J. T. Jett, James A. Swope, James Allender and Henry Case. Alex Dix is made trustee in place of W. W. Ervin, who refused to qualify.

1912 April--Unknown man is run over and killed by a freight train near Falmouth [Burial without being identified].

1912 May 21--Philip M. Carlin, age 25 years, son of James Carlin, who formerly resided near Hightower, was found dead beneath the Central Covington Bridge Monday Morning. His body was horribly mangled. Mr. Carlin was employed by the L. & N. R. R. as an air brake inspector.

1912--Falmouth Depot built [Burned to the ground April 17,1980].

1912--Steel bridge across Grassy Creek on Center Ridge Rd is built. [Replaced in 1982].

1912 September--Elmer Smith, 18, son of late Dan Smith of Falmouth, is run over and killed by cars at Butler.

1912--Hayes Station bridge over the Main Licking River is built [paid for by the Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company].

1913 January--Major flooding of Licking River 34.8 feet.

1913 April 4--Max Goldberg born, son of Solomon and Jennie Yanfaki Goldberg

1914--Morgan Christian Church new brick church structure is built.

'1914 November 10-- Samuel Thomas Hauser dies in Helena, Montana.

1915 July 7--Heavy storm damage in the Pleasant Hill area.

1915 July-- It seems that the storm that visited this county Wednesday night, July 7th, was more destructive in the Pleasant Hill vicinity than in any other place in the county. The destruction of property and crop was very great, but it was confined to a narrow strip of territory. Falmouth Outlook 1915 July--High winds, heavy rains and flash flooding destroy numerous trees and crops in central Pendleton County.

1916--Dr. V. W. Corbin begins his practice in Butler.

1917 March--[About Falmouth, early 1850s] Falmouth at that time was a very small village. The business was confined to two streets, as I remember, Main and Main-Cross, beginning at the railroad, then known as the K. C. [Kentucky Central] and completed from Covington to Falmouth sometime in 1854. There was on Main-Cross at the railroad the Watson Hotel. A. Watson, proprietor; next came Allen Young’s saloon, the McCarty Hotel, Reuben McCarty, proprietor; hat shop conducted by Jas. I Hudnell; tailor shop run by John Delany; William Kennett, Henry Newman, N. E. Mains, merchants; Kennett Hotel, James Kennett, proprietor; Lightfoot Hotel, opposite court house and Samuel T. Houser’s law office; tin shop conducted by C. Reeder; next came John Hoobinger’s Hotel, saloon and ten-pin alley and opposite this place to the east was John Eckert’s Hotel and blacksmith shop.
-- L. T. Craig, Boston, Ky.

1917 March--The Board of Directors of the Falmouth & McKenneysburg Telephone company met…and passed a ruling that all conversations over their lines shall be limited to five minutes. The manager of the telephone exchange was instructed to enforce this ruling without favor.

1918 April--Clark Hicks, son of Mr. and Mrs. J, A. Hicks of Double Beech, wins the annual spelling bee and the accompanying $5.00 first prize. The winning word--'tether'.

1918 June 5--Holly Coffee of Morgan dies of wounds [WWI].

1920--First and smallest graduating class of Morgan High School [2 students].

1920 April--On April 12, death claimed Mrs. Rose Riley, after an extended illness.

1920 April--'Sugar is selling at 25 cents per pound on the local market, with a rapid upward tendency.' Falmouth Outlook

1920 April--'Mrs. George Strother, colored, aged about 55 years, died last Wednesday morning at her home in the East End.' Falmouth Outlook

1920 April--Born on April 11 to the wife of Stephen Sheanshang, a little son, who died the same day. "Budded on earth to bloom in heaven."

1920 April--James E. Blades, one of the city's venerable and highly respected citizens, died last Saturday morning at his home on West Shelby St. after an extended illness.

1920 April--'We have the pleasure to report a most interesting event--a happy birthday dinner held at the hospitable home of Esquire and Mrs. M. M. Mullins of Grassy Creek.' Falmouth Outlook

1920 April--D. C. Grimes, who resides two miles north of Falmouth, is given a happy little surprise on Wednesday, April 14, when a number of relatives and friends come to his home to celebrate his seventy-second birthday anniversary.

1920-1928--Only a three year High School at Morgan, and pupils wishing to graduate, had to complete their studies at Falmouth or elsewhere.

1921--First National Bank is established in Falmouth. [The building also has been used as a pool hall, saloon, speak-easy and a place where high school graduations were held.]

1921 April 27----Peter Scharfenberger, a highly esteemed and aged citizen, died suddenly at the home of his son, Peter Scharfenberger, at Catawba.

1921 May--There are a number of wool buyers in Falmouth Monday engaging wool from our farmers. The prevailing price is 20 cents per pound.

1921 May--'The death angel visited the home of Mr. and Mrs. Albert Barnes of near Dry Ridge, and took their only daughter, Ora, aged about 18 years.' Falmouth Outlook

1921 May--Otis Coleman has begun the erection of a six-room bungalow on his farm near Browning's Corner. Scott Whalen of McKenneysburg has contracted for the job. He started to work on May 2.

1921 May--Harry Cummins, formerly of this county, but for the past three years connected with the railway mail service at Birmingham, Ala., has been appointed as carrier on Route No. 4 out of Falmouth.

1921 May--Spurgeon Aulick of this city has sold his 90 acre farm four miles north of Butler in Campbell County, to Henry W. Schalck. Price $50 an acre.

1921 May--Jewell Florence, four-year-old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Anderson Mockbee of Railroad Ave., died last Thursday, following an illness of pneumonia.

1921 May--H. D. (Chip) Wadsworth, L. & N. conductor, is seriously injured in the Corbin railroad yards, when he is struck by an engine.

1921 May--Cliff Cummins sold to Simeon Jacob of Pleasant Hill 12 milk cows at an average of $80.

1921 May--Mr. and Mrs. Pearl Case of Parina received a telegram from Washington on Sunday, stating that the body of their son, Sgt. Ottie Case, who lost his life in the World War, would arrive in New York about May.

1921 May--Bryce and Forrest Hopkins and William Mullins, well-known young men of near Demossville, are erecting a new and up-to-date garage, 32 x 60 feet, on the farm of Mrs. J. E. Bailey near the Three Forks of Grassy Creek.

1921 May--C. N. Johnson was elected to fill the vacancy of Marshall caused by the resignation of J. O. Perrin. Mr. Perrin has been city marshal of Falmouth for the past eight years, and he resigns to devote his entire time to his race for sheriff.

1921 May--'Frank Caldwell started drilling for oil Monday morning on the F. L. Arnold farm across the river from the fairgrounds. It is the intention to test the field thoroughly for oil or gas, and our people will watch the progress of the drilling with much anticipation. Here's hoping, etc. ' Falmouth Outlook

1921 May--Mrs. Belle Knight of Falmouth brought to our office last Saturday one of the oldest books we have ever seen. It is the "Midwife's Guide." published in England in 1752, and was used by her Grandmother Steel, who lived and practiced medicine in Campbell County in the neighborhood where Grant's Lick now stands. Falmouth Outlook

1921 May--The Falmouth Board of Education has re-elected G. H. Wells superintendent of the Falmouth Schools for the coming school year.

1921 May--When on her way to Sunday School last Sunday morning, Mrs. Dolly Cummins was struck by the machine of A. N. Hedgecock and seriously injured.

1921 May--Hazel Butts, aged 13 years, was run over by an automobile driven by Raymond Moore on Sunday morning, on Woodson Road near the Catholic Cemetery.

1921 May--Josephine Thompson, twin child of Roger Thompson, died May 2. Burial in Pythian Grove Cemetery [Also known as Berry Cemetery]. Just three weeks ago the mother and other twin died.

1926 April--Joseph Macauley Lowe of Kansas City, Missouri, formerly of Pendleton County, Kentucky. Lowe, the son of Moses and Nancy Watson Porter Lowe, dies at home. When he resided in Pendleton County, he lived in the Callensville area.

1921 July 22--Walker Colbert and Guy Taylor of Boston Station were injured, Colbert seriously, when their boat struck an unexploded stick of dynamite in the Main Licking River near Menzies Station.

1921 December-January 1922--Major flooding of Licking River 40.8 feet.

1922 January 13--M.B. Moore, Falmouth resident, award winner for penmanship, commits suicide.

1922-- "John H. Fryer, father of Judge Fryer, was born near Butler in 1832, and after his marriage for twenty years, lived in Falmouth, where he earned a high reputation as a lawyer. He was a graduate of the law department of the University of Michigan. From Falmouth he returned to Butler, and lived on his farm there until his death in 1904. Originally he was a Democrat, but in later years affiliated with the Republican party. He was a very active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
John H. Fryer married Frances Norris who lived all her life in Pendleton County and was born and died near Butler. Of their children Calvin, the oldest, is a farmer near Butler;
Laura, living on her farm near Butler, is the widow of Lafayette McClung, a printer for many years and later a farmer;
Louis P. was the third among the children;
Alvin died at the age of 15and two others died in infancy"
Died 1904 in Butler, Pendleton County, Kentucky.
Judge Charles Kerr, American Historical Society

1922 March 17--N.C. Ridgway dies in Falmouth. Burial in Riverside Cemetery.

1922--Butler Deposit Bank started [The bank is forced to close July 31, 1931].

1922 November 8--Samuel Abercrombie, age 87, son of George Washington and Martha "Patsy" Lovelace Abercrombie died; veteran of the Union Army; buried at Modoc.

1923 December 2 --Louisville Courier-Journal writer W. S. Kaltenbacher first to (wrongly) claim that the Butler Wooden Covered Bridge is the world's longest.

1924-- Goforth is the first school in Pendleton County to provide hot lunches to its students, the cost borne by the Parent-Teachers Association.

1924--In Falmouth, planes land between Sycamore and Elm streets [in the Berger subdivision].

1924-1931--Leslie T. Applegate serves as Judge of Circuit Court of Kenton County.

1925--Foster ferry (Neville-Foster ferry) begins.

1926--US 27 is built.

1926 April 16--Joseph Macauley Lowe of Kansas City, Missouri, formerly of Pendleton County, Kentucky. Lowe, the son of Moses and Nancy Watson Porter Lowe, died at home. While he resided in Pendleton County, he lived in the Callensville area.

1926 September 23--Shoemakertown covered bridge burns.

1927 January--Major flooding of Licking River 38.00 feet.

1927--New brick High School building is constructed at Butler.

1927-8--Steel bridge built at Shoemakertown [bridge was dismantled mid-March-early April 2013].

1928--Charles S. Brown comes to Morgan as principal and through his leadership Morgan adds the fourth year of High School..

1928--“Falmouth, Pendleton County, is one of the old towns, dating from 1790, and claims something like two thousand people. Pendleton is called 'the county which came back,' as some years ago, on account of the worn-out condition of the soil, about a third of the population moved away. Then sweet clover was planted, the bees came and founded a great honey-making colony, dairying developed, and the county and county seat were reinstated on the map.” from Samuel Wilson's History of Kentucky.

1930s [late]-- Portland Junior High School is built on Center Ridge Road [built in the late 1930's and burned in 1963].

1930--Morgan Graded and High School became a part of the Pendleton County School System. [Previous to this Morgan was an Independent School.]

1930 May--Max Goldberg graduates from Falmouth High School.

1931 March--Outside of Falmouth, 76 year old Nicholas Martz, a bachelor, is restrained, bound and tortured by four would-be thieves, one woman and three men. For several hours, the elderly gentleman, rumored to be a wealthy eccentric who hid his fortune at his home, is beaten and tortured, the worst of which was burning his toes. Unsuccessful, the thieves left after ransacking the house. Thirteen hours later, he is found by his brother. Mr. Martz is too ill and incoherent to describe the assailants.

1931--McMillian School closes. [It was located on the Robert McMillian, Sr.'s farm on Jagg Road.] [It was closed in preparation for opening of the new Portland School.]

1932--Earl Jordan of Morgan was one of the $100 winners in the Old Gold Contest sponsored by P. Lorillard, a tobacco company. Contestants had to solve 90 rebuses over a 15 week period and mail in the correct answers with 45 'Old Gold' cigarette wrappers. There were 1000 winners with the grand prize winner receiving $100,000.

1934 February--The Butler Garment Factory (The Factory Company) opens.

1934--Emma McClanahan noted in 1934 that Pendleton County, in 1910, had 3,108 colonies of bees, and that by 1927 that number had grown to 20,000, with annual honey shipments amounting to 2,000,000 pounds.

1934 Summer--Tobacco worm infestation throughout Pendleton County.

1934 October--Butler Wooden Covered Bridge closed to all except pedestrian traffic.

1935--Turkeys in Pendleton County, fetching top price, are at 12-14 cents per pound.

1935 February 5--William A. Bradford dies. Buried at Butler Cemetery (Also known as Flour Creek Cemetery)

1935 May 25--Leslie T. Applegate (Sr.) dies.

1935 May 30--"Old fashioned picnic'' at Bethel Church.

1935--DeMossville Baptist Church rebuilt after fire the same year.

1936 April 20--James Edwin Yelton, 86, one of the best-known residents in Pendleton County , died peacefully at his home in Caddo following a long illness.

1936-7--American Legion Bridge built in Butler.

1937 January and February --Major flooding of Licking River.

1937 February 26--Oldham house in Shoemakertown damaged by high storm winds and falling tree.

1937 October 7--Butler Wooden Covered Bridge is torn down.

1937 October 20--American Legion Bridge in Butler dedicated.

1938 January 27--A. E. Blades (Alvin Evan), well-known businessman from Bachelors Rest, dies of pneumonia.

1938--Italian air show troupe lands on property owned by Jim Jacobs and the City of Falmouth on Hayes Station Road.

1939--Morgan School has its first lunch room [Mrs. Hazel Godman is manager].

1939 [ish]Home of C. A. Kelly, located between Portland and Pleasant Ridge, destroyed by fire. Origin unknown.

1940--One of two houses remaining in Callensville destroyed.

1941-1945--Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] serves on the Pendleton County Draft Board.

1941 December--Bridge over South Licking River at Morgan is finished.

1943 March--Major flooding of Licking River 37.00 feet [crest of 44.87 feet at Butler].

1943--John L. Griffin founds Falmouth Fertilizer Company.

1944 June 6--Phillip Sharp is born.[In 1993 he is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in Physiology or Medicine].

1945 March--Major flooding of Licking River 35.60 feet.

1945 [ish]--Gabriel Mullins' house, land and the family burial grounds sold and willed to the Grassy Creek Christian Church.

1946 May---Contractor J. N. Shields of Falmouth is building a new frame bungalow for Floyd Ackman, L. & N. signal mainatainer, on Liberty Street in the West End. The bungalow will be modern in every respect. 1946 May--Goebel Paynter, a well-known young farmer living between Cumminsville and Berlin, while plowing during a severe storm, had a narrow escape from death. Lightning struck the clevis of his plow, knocking Mr. Paynter senseless for the time being. His team became frightened and drug him 150 yards. He was not seriously injured, but felt the effects of the shock for several hours.

1946 May---A fatal auto accident occurred on the Concord Pike near the home of Otis Allender, three miles north of Falmouth, Monday morning, when a car driven by James Courtney, and occupied by his mother, Mrs. Daisy Owens, Mrs. Claud Glenn and J. C. Fields, went over a steep embankment and turned over several times with the occupants in the car. The party was enroute to Falmouth. Mrs. Glenn is killed.

1946--Charlie Lemmon opens his watchmaking business in his father's Chrysler/Plymouth dealership at 4th and Montjoy (R.W. Lemmon & Son...this was his father's and grandfather's name--started from a buggy shop).

1947--The County School Board purchased the old Baptist Church building in Morgan to use as the Home Economics Building.

1947--Falmouth Fertilizer Company builds its first major rendering plant.

1947-- Basement is constructed for Sunday School rooms in Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church.

1947--Train derailment between DeMossville and Butler.

1948 January 1--New Year's Day Tornado near Falmouth

1948 April--Major flooding of Licking River 41.60 feet.

1950 December 20--Margaret Lawrence [“Aunt Mag.”] of Butler celebrates turning 100 years of age. [She lived to 105.]

1951 August--James Parker Moore, “Bee Jimmie,” as he was known in the community age 91, prominent beekeeper, died August 20, 1951, at his home near Morgan, following an illness of three years. Mr. Moore was a pioneer beekeeper, having started with eighty hives of bees over 72 years ago and built up a queen rearing business of international fame.

1951 November 11-- Edward E. Barton [E.E. Barton] dies. He is buried in Riverside Cemetery at Falmouth.

1952 February--Last house standing in Callensville burns.

1952 May--7.53 acres in Falmouth is given to Camp Northward by Miss Jessie Oldham.

1952 September 15--Bethel Cemetery is incorporated.

1953 May--Official incorporation of Northward Christian Assembly.

1955 August 14--Pleasant Ridge Baptist Church centennial celebration.

1956 June 22--Train derailment in Butler (44 cars derail across from the Grant homestead).

1956 July 19--An F2 tornado hits Pendleton County. No injuries.

1957--Morgan Post Office closes.

1957 December--Train Derailment between Falmouth and Hayes Station (Blind Buck)

1958--Pendleton County government permanently closes and sells the Pendleton County infirmary.

1958 July 9--Kincaid Lake State Park opens. [In 1960 the park had a name change from Kincaid Lake State Park to Falmouth Lake State Park. Local residents felt that the name should be changed back to Kincaid for historical reasons. In 1969 Kincaid Lake State Park again became the official name.]

1959 February 24 --Actress Beth Broderickis born in Falmouth. [At an early age her family moved to Huntington Beach, California, where she was raised.]

1959--At Butler Baptist, a new brick church in the Grant subdivision, is dedicated.

1959 July--Cement mixer truck driven by Kenneth Perkins of Falmouth plunges through the floor of the Hayes Station bridge and into the Licking River. No deaths or injuries.

1959--Morgan High School's last graduating class. Morgan and Butler are consolidated to form Pendleton High School. Principals at Morgan High School were D. H. Norris, a Mr. Ryle, Charles S. Brown, James R. Welch, Forest Thompson, Wilford Lancaster, C.G. Lamb, Preston Laster, Palmore Lyles, Calvin Walker, and Richard Gulick.

1959 September 8--Pendleton County Memorial High School opens. [First graduating class--70 students in 1960.] Fall 1968, Falmouth High School merges with it. In Spring 2007, Pendleton County Memorial High School's building given major remodeling and enlargement.

1959--The land Carntown is on is purchased from Matilda Vornhagen Timmerwilke by Black River Mining.

1959--New brick Baptist church in the Grant subdivision, Butler is dedicated.

1960s [early]-- Bernimen cabin [Murphy house] in Grassy Creek remodeled.

1960s [early]--- Carntown is leveled by the Black River Mining Company.

1960s [early]--Falmouth Fertilizer Company renamed Griffin Industries, Inc..

1960s [early]--- Carntown Limekiln opened by the Black River Mining Company.

1962 April--PHS flag unveiled at school assembly. Ronald Wolfe, President of the Student Council, presents it to Mr. Back, principal.

1963-- Harvey Record's T. V. repair shop opens on Peoples Street in Butler.

1963 June 1--Portland School building burns.

1963--Stop-n-Tell Restaurant in Falmouth renamed Sugar Shack.

1964 March--Major flooding of Licking River.

1964--Louis and Joyce McClanahan buy the Butler Mercantile from Bea and Phil Farris [sold in 1981 to Ewell and Nancy Adams]

1964--Sugar Shack Restaurant in Falmouth renamed Stop-n-Tell.

1965 February--Grassy Creek Christian Church burns.

1965 February 5--Dairy Treet opens in Falmouth.

1965 February--Falmouth Business District Remodeling completed [Woodhead Funeral Home, Falmouth Wallpaper and Paint Center, and Conrad Insurance Agency; Monroe Building; Daugherty Lumber Company].

1965 April--Othelia Moore named librarian at Pendleton County Library, succeeding Nancy Doggett.

1965 November--Max Goldberg elected Mayor of Falmouth [serves the next 33 years].

1966--Falmouth Lions Club founded.

1966 January--Knoxville Baptist Church destroyed by fire [rebuilt same year].

1966 November--Knoxville Baptist Church rebuilt, dedicated.

1967 March 21--Falmouth farmers dumped not only what their cows had produced, but what they'd been able to buy from the store shelves with $200 they'd collected at a meeting the night before [National Farmers Organization, dairy farmers protest].

1968--Koch Building in Falmouth torn down.

1968--Three rendering plants are acquired by Griffin Industries, Inc. for $550,000.

1968 April 23--A category F4 tornado strikes Falmouth.

1970s [early]-August 11, 1984--Airstrip located on farm owned by Billy Ray Cookendorfer and Tom LaFollette operated as RAYS on Grimes Road.

1971 July 1--Grants Lick Rest Home opens in Butler.

1971 October--H. J. Clemons of Roanoke grows champion potatoes, with winners weighing two pounds and 7 1/2" in length.

1971--River Valley Nursing Home in Butler opens [becomes an Intermediate Care Home for 32 residents in 1979].

1972--Charlie Lemmon's business moves it to its current location 206 West Shelby Street.

1972--Pendleton County Schools fully consolidated. [Pendleton County High School, Pendleton County Middle School and Northern & Southern Elementary]

1973--Falmouth Depot made a historical landmark by Rebecca Bryan Boone Chapter of the D.A.R..

1973 September 15-- Falmouth Laundromat, owned by Earl & Bertha Wallace, burns.

1973 October 2--Fisher's Motel murders.

1975--Carol and Nancy Houchen purchase the Alvin Mountjoy cabin and have it restored in 1980.

1975 November 11--Colonel Holton Houston Hoss) Pribble, formerly with the US Army Air Force, husband of Sidney, father of Hannah and George H. (Hank) passed away following a brief illness.

1980 April 17--Falmouth Depot burns to the ground.

1980--Alvin Mountjoy cabin restored by Carol and Nancy Houchen.

1981 May-- Butler Auctionhouse fire.

1981--Ewell and Nancy Adams buy the Butler Mercantile from Louis and Joyce McClanahan.

1982--Pendleton County school bus accident on Highway 1054. Iced roads; no fatalities, one injury.

1982 August--WIOK Radio, formerly WNKR signs on the air, with a country format. Owned by IOK Incorporated until 1987 when it is purchased by Amber Broadcasting Corporation in Florence Ky. It keeps the country format until around February 1990, when it switches to soft rock. September 1991, the station is converted to a Christian format, and is purchased by Hammond broadcasting [still the current owners] and the format is still a Christian format. The former call letters WNKR are now in Dry Ridge, where they've been since 1992 on 106.7 with a classic country format.

1982--Steel bridge across Grassy Creek on Center Ridge Rd is replaced [original built in 1912]

1983 March 4--Leslie T. Applegate house, 410 Maple St., Falmouth, placed on the National Register of Historic Places.

1983 March--The McBride House, 401 Main Street, Falmouth, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

1983 November 28-- "This town used to be a booming town. I remember when there were seven tobacco warehouses here. One was a storage house. There were two big lumber mills and a saddle stirrup shop where stirrups were made for saddles. Most of these were shipped to Cuba and a lot of other small industries. The saddle stirrups were used on sugar plantations in Cuba". 91 year old Dr. Victor W. Corbin [Butler]

1983--Kincaid Regional Theatre (KRT) in Falmouth opens.

1983--First Kentucky Wool Festival is held in Falmouth.

1984--John Griffin suffers a heart attack and turns over control of Griffin Industries, Inc. to his sons.

1984--Gene Snyder Airport built in Turner Ridge.

1984--Jail in Falmouth is restored and remodeled.

1986 March 20--Two large power transmission towers topple south of Morgan.

1986--The Falmouth Outlook sold to Delphos Herald Inc. of Delphos, Ohio.

1988--Alvin Montjoy cabin becomes the residence of Lisa Houchen.

1989--Major flooding of Licking River 39.00 feet.

1989 November 15--An F1 tornado hits Pendleton County. No deaths; 2 injuries.

1990--Stop-n-Tell Restaurant closes.

1991 September--WIOK is converted to a Christian format, and is purchased by Hammond broadcasting [still the current owners] and the format is still a Christian format. The former call letters WNKR are now in Dry Ridge, where they've been since 1992 on 106.7 with a classic country format.

1993--Pendleton County Historical & Genealogical Society forms.

1993-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Larry Wells – Ph. D. - UK College of Agriculture – Advisor

1994-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Phillip A Sharp – Ph.D. – Massachusetts Institute of Tech. – Professor

1994 June 6--Nellie Conrad Palmer, 94, of 308 Beech Street, Falmouth, Ky. dies at the St. Luke Hospital East, Ft. Thomas, Ky. after an extended illness.

1995-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Bryan Kent Nordheim – Captain, U.S. Air Force

1996 Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Dennis Griffin – President, Griffin Industries

1996 March and June--'' I talked to one old man and he said they came from Boston down here. Boston is just south of Butler. The mill people of Boston, after they got the best of the timber, why they just abandoned that area for better and bigger timber. Then this fellow Hagemeyer, Chris Hagemeyer, he bought the machinery, brought it up to Butler and started this mill. When he left here he was a millionaire. That was years ago, of course. Money then had less value than today's standards. He would probably be worth 10 million today…. His house is torn down now. He was from Cincinnati. He and his father-in-law migrated from Cincinnati bought this stuff and started it all..'' An Interview with Dr. Victor Woolford Corbin

1996 March and June--''You see, I worked here 59 years in dentistry and I took care of an awful lot of people. I had a technician toward the last ten years. All I did was take out teeth and do the surgical work and trim the bone, sew it up and then I would turn it over to the technician, take an impression, turn it over to him and he finished the job, made dentures and all. That was about the last nine years of my work. For about another nine years I had to do all the surgical work in the county dentistry. The man at Falmouth got old and they wasn't trained for it to start with and they had a time getting teeth out, trimming bone and so on and all that stuff. They couldn't do it. They were much younger than me and hadn't had that training. They came to me, this was at Falmouth, if you will just take out the teeth and smooth the bone up, trim it up and send them to us, we will do the plate. So that is what I did for about 9 years, nothing but that. Encyst, bone cyst, you would run into them every once and a while. After that is when I got the technician and he made the other stuff. Of course I had patients everyplace, Newport, Covington and all like that. Just dozens from Newport and Covington. Now when I started it took me about 5 years to make enough money to feed my family. I'll tell you why. People coming to me had to come in horse and buggy. There wasn't an automobile in the country and they had to come and that's pretty much of a drive. Five or six miles and that was about the limit my patients could travel, but when the automobile came they could come from Newport or anywhere else. That's what boomed my business up.'' An Interview with Dr. Victor Woolford Corbin

1996 March and June--'' About the toll road, I have let that thing (toll gate) up and down many times. I used to like to go down there you know. I would play ball down there and fish and set out troll lines. Swim in that creek and the river, oh that was a great place. Then that little town of DeMossville had two or three tobacco warehouses. about three or four stores, all that stuff and the prices were so reasonable. I thought that was the greatest place and marbles was cheaper there. Of course we would make a big bull ring, put our marbles in, shoot and whatever they shot out was their marbles.''' An Interview with Dr. Victor Woolford Corbin

1996 March and June--''Upriver, on the west side and just south of the bridge. (river flows north, upriver is south) In that area was the saw mills, lumber yards, sheds and all. They sawed this lumber and then it was put in drying sheds and kept there a year before it was planed. This was to season it. Now they season lumber by heat. Now, here is a view of this mill, I am talking about looking toward the river. They would go up river and cut the rafts and float the rafts down river and the pier caught them. From the pier a little railroad or conveyer ran up to the mill. A man stood at the pier and maneuvered the logs of the train or conveyor. He would give a signal and up that log would go into the mill. Now here is the planning mill where they planed the lumber. Logs were floated down from the mountains south of here in the form of rafts. They put tie poles across the rafts and pinned them down and then fastened the rafts together. It took two men on the front and one man on the back. '' An Interview with Dr. Victor Woolford Corbin

1996 May 8--An F2 tornado hits Pendleton County. No deaths; 2 injuries.

1996-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Dr. Dale Edward Beighle--Animal Health University of the Northwest – Professor

1996 Fall--Oldham house in Shoemakertown taken down.

1997 March 1-2--[At Falmouth] March 1 Licking River 7:45 a.m. 17.5 feet. March 2 Licking River 11:45 a.m. 27.5 feet. March 2 Licking River 7:00 p.m. 52 feet. [Licking River Flood Stage is 28 feet.]

1997 March--Following the flood, Falmouth's Police department, as well as its dispatch center relocated to a trailer located at the intersection of Ridgeway Ave and Earle Ave in Falmouth. [This location is now a vacant lot.]

1997 July 2- An F3 tornado hits Pendleton County. No deaths; no injuries but touches down for eleven miles.

1997-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Darwin Moneyhon--U.S. Army Deputy Director of Operations for Joint Command

1997 December-- Phillip A. Sharp Middle School vandalized prior to opening day of classes.

1997-1998--Phillip A. Sharp Middle School opens. [1997-1998 school year after Christmas break.]

1998-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; William E. Johnson--Attorney-at-Law, US District Court of Eastern & Western KY

1998--Forks of the Licking published by the Falmouth Outlook; Debbie Dennie, Editor

1998--Honey Hill Farm, interactive petting zoos and pony rides, is founded by Sally Powell in Southwestern Pendleton County on Crooked Creek Road.

1998 March 29--Falmouth Police department as well as its dispatch center relocates back to the newly remodeled police department located at 212 Main Street in Falmouth.

1998 October--The bottom of a silo collapses, unleashing a 10- to 12-foot high pile of lime gravel weighing an estimated 600 tons at Dravo Lime Co.'s Black River Division, in Pendleton County. The body of 45-year-old Dayton, Ky., chemist Michael Sanzere was recovered.

1998 October 27--Genevieve Shonert, a civic leader, Democratic Party official and founding member of the Pendleton County Public Library and the Kincaid Regional Theater in Pendleton County, dies Sunday at St. Elizabeth Hospice Unit in Covington.
The Falmouth resident was 82.
Born Bertha Genevieve Hancock in Cincinnati, Mrs. Shonert, affectionately known by many as "Gevie," was the daughter of grocery store owners from Lenoxburg, where she grew up.

1999 -- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Rev. Frank T. Florence, Jr.--Minister, Author, Missionary

1999 November--Morgan Tornado.


Top

1700s

1800s

1900s


2000--Pendleton County central dispatch is taken over by the Pendleton County Fiscal Court. It had, since its inception, been in the hands of the City of Falmouth.

2000-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Floyd Wills--Community member, former employee--Pendleton County Schools.

2000 February--Major flooding of Licking River 37.00 feet.

2001 Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Richard Gulick--Former Superintendent.

2001 April--Falmouth City Council voted 5-1…to begin an investigation of Mayor Gene Flaugher's actions regarding the alteration of a Kentucky Ethics Commission opinion. [The vote followed the mayor's refusal to resign.]

2002 March-H&H Bass Club forms in Butler.

2002-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Stephen Fardo Professor of Technology and Foundation Professor.

2003 February 13--Pendleton County dispatch relocated to its present home, in the newly built Pendleton County Emergency Operations Center, located at 2275 Highway 27 North, next to the Pendleton County High School.

2003 March 1--Melva McBride Young of Falmouth, passed away at the Northern Kentucky Care and Rehabilitation Center in Highland Heights, at the age of 102.

2003-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Sherry Wainwright--Branch Chief, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Department Homeland Security.

2003--Punkyville: Population 2 starts.

2003 July-- The Pendleton County Champions Coalition is chartered.

2004-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Gary Moore--Senior Vice President of Investments for Paine Webber and founder of Gary Moore & Company, Counsel to Ethical and Spiritual Investors.

2004 November 4--Fire in Falmouth destroys phone lines [Fiber-optic and copper cables burn].

2004 November 4--At 11:00 a.m. the Dairy Queen in Falmouth burns.

2005 April 7--Blue Mud published by Jim Deaton.

2005 Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient Lisa Thompson--Liaison for the Abolition of Sexual Trafficking - The Salvation Army.

2005 July-- Howard's Place Restaurant opens.

2006-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient Sharon Toliver--Gluck Equine Research Center--University of Kentucky.

2006 September--Michael Wyrick and Alan Rider, both from Falmouth, executed a capital lease agreement with the Pendleton County Industrial Development Authority and, as of September 1, 2006, took occupancy of the Assembly Building (also known as the "Old Moreland Drug Store") located at 100 West Shelby Street in downtown Falmouth.

2007--Kentucky's Covered Bridges by Robert Walter MacGregor Laughlin & Melissa C. Jurgensen published.

2007-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient Ronald Moreland--Retired Pharmacist, Active Community Leader.

2007--Kentucky Rock Art begins [Kathy Colvin; first E Bay sale 2009].

2007 December 18--Max Goldberg dies. He is buried in Riverside Cemetery, Falmouth.

2008-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient Myron Doan--Retired Dean of Students, Morehead State, Active Community Leader.

2009-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient Cliff Wallace--Retired Superintendent of Pendleton County Schools.

2010--Rose Hill first winery in Pendleton County. Rose Hill farm is located at 199 Highway 17 North about 1/10th mile North of the intersection with US 27 on some of the highest ground in the county. The rest of Rose Hill farm is co-owned by Elizabeth Fogle Pyles and Robert Fogle.

2010-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient Dr. Scot Cordray--U.S. Naval Air Operational Flight Surgeon, Orthopedic Sports Medicine Doctor, Orthopedic Surgeon.

2010 December 18--First meeting of The Pendleton County Historical & Genealogical Society held at the Fryer House, Flour Creek.

2011-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Marvin Sullivan--Former PHS teacher; Former Pendleton Co. Circuit Clerk; Auctioneer; Published writer & storyteller.

2011-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; David H. Pribble--Former Judge-Executive of Pendleton County.

2012-- Larry Finley shoots record-winning buck during muzzleloader season in Pendleton County. The buck, measured by the Boone & Crockett Club, is the largest one killed in Kentucky in 2012 and largest since 2008. .

2012 -- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Lisa Asher--Actress & Vocalist in numerous theatrical & concert venues across the country.

2012 February 2--Kincaid Regional Theatre (KRT) receives Kentucky Arts Partnership operational support grant.

2012 February 2--The Falmouth Outlook goes digital. Online subscriptions immediately available.

2012 February 25--Pendleton County Wildcats defeat Deming High School to win the 38th District Tournament championship title.

2012 February 25--Southern Elementary's Academic Team saw its Quick recall and Problem Solving teams take first place at the District Governor's Cup competition.

2012 February 29-March 3--Severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding cause major damage in Pendleton County.

2012 March 2--2012 March 2--An F3 tornado hits Pendleton County near Butler. Three deaths; 13 injuries. A second [F4] tornado hits Pendleton County near Butler. Four deaths; 8 injuries. A third [F2] tornado hits Pendleton County near Butler. No deaths; 3 injuries.

2012 March 13--Tornadoes damage 221 houses in Pendleton County.

2012 March 20--Randi Rering, a ten year old fourth grader at Northern Elementary, receives a liver transplant at Children's Hospital in Cincinnati.

2012 March 29--Jacob Long, of Bellevue, killed in an auto accident on Route 8 in northern Pendleton County.

2012 April--Kentucky State Representative Tom McKee announces that Pendleton County will receive $51,500,000 to widen US 27 to four lanes [to Butler from the Campbell County line]. [Delayed]

2012 April--At their annual awards dinner, the Pendleton County Conservation District names Teri Brown 'Person of the Year' and Teri Ziegler 'Teacher of the Year'.

2012 April--Kentucky Wool Festival is chosen ''Best Annual Festival in Kentucky'' by Kentucky Living Magazine.

2012 April 8--Butler native Nate Jones makes his Major League Baseball debut, pitching for the Chicago White Sox.

2012 April 23--Three Falmouth residents, Jackie Bennett, William Carroll and Ethel Carroll, were injured in a two car accident on Bethel Hill.

2012 April 25-- Shoemakertown Bridge inspected by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet; weight limit lowered to three tons.

2012 April 28--Jonathon Steimetz and Brook Wiggins are named King and Queen at PHS Prom.

2012 May--Heritage Bank, headquartered in Burlington, KY acquires Farmers Bank.

2012 May 3--House and garage owned by Harry Reider on Greenwood-Portland Road destroyed by fire.

2012 May13--The mobile home of Chris and Christina Harris on Hi and Dry Lane, south of Falmouth, is destroyed by fire.

2012 May 22---Keith Smith named Athletic Director at PHS.

2012 May 22---Ed Cravens named Wildcat Basketball Coach at PHS.

2012--Morgan school gymnasium torn down.

2012 June 20--El Paso Mexican Restaurant opens.

2012 July 2--27 Auto Service LLC opens.

2012 June--Gateway Community and Technical will partner with PCHS and Falmouth School Center to offer classes in Pendleton County.

2012 June 23--Second grader Collier Brown, son of Lenny and Amy Brown of Falmouth will compete in the 'Stock' Division of the Cincinnati Soapbox Derby.

2012 June 27--Falmouth Police arrest three juveniles believed responsible for numerous thefts from unoccupied autos.

2012 July 18--Bass Webb pleads guilty to the murder of his estranged girlfriend, Bryia Runiewicz, in 2009.

2012 July 26--Pendleton County School Board Vice-Chairman Steve Thomas announces he will not seek reelection.

2012 July--Philip Sharp Middle School names Adam Cross as new principal, beginning with new school year in Fall of 2012.

2012 August 1--Pendleton County Sheriff's Department raids three marijuana fields.

2012 August-- Pendleton County Sheriff's Office, with Dayton Police Department execute a search warrant on property on Palestine Road and recover a large amount of stolen property.

2012 August 19--Union Civil War soldier Edward L. Harper military memorial at Mount Vernon Cemetery.

2012 August 21--Bass Webb withdraws his plea of guilty to the murder of his estranged girlfriend, Bryia Runiewicz, in 2009.

2012 September 4--Mae Purdy, after 32 years working in the optical business, last with Dr. James Ernst, retires. She started with Dr. William Clinger in 1979.

2012 September 18---Body of unidentified, elderly man found in campground at Kincaid Lake State Park.

2012 October 2--Gary Gregg, Falmouth, is sentenced to 10 years imprisonment for manufacturing methamphetamine.

2012 October--Chelsie Folden, 21, of South Portsmouth, Ohio named Miss Kentucky Wool Festival for 2012.

2012 October--Conservation Officer Chris Fossitt, a Pendleton Countian, is selected as Kentucky's Top Boating Law Enforcement Officer of the year.

2012 October 28--Family, friends and fellow veterans gather at American Legion Hardin-Browning Post 109 Hall to dedicate a bench honoring former commander Claude Ray Hammond.

2012 November 8-- Pendleton County Sheriff Craig Peoples arrests Jenny Gibson, charging 21 counts including manufacturing methamphetamine.

2012 November--PHS football coach Terry Brown named 2012 Coach of the Year by KFCA/Russell Athletics District.

2012 November 16--New $6 million bridge across Main Licking River at Shoemakertown is dedicated. Chester Bishop, present for the 'Blue Bridges' dedication, cuts the ribbon.

2012 November 21--Regina K. Vanlandingham of Falmouth admits to fraudulently collecting nearly $200,000 from state and federal agencies. (Previously indicted by a Grand Jury in October 2012.)

2013--Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Debbie Dennie - Editor of the Falmouth Outlook.

2013 March--Pendleton County Picture Hub, a nine page website with five pages of pictures. started by Jim Deaton.

2012-13 March--3 mid -March/early-April--Steel bridge at Shoemakertown ("Blue Bridge") dismantled.

2014-- Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Lieutenant Colonel Robbin C. Higgins, US Army Signal Corps.

2014 April 3--Marvin Sullivan publishes Back Yonder.

2015 January 1--Falmouth designated a Home Rule class city from a Fourth Class city by the Kentucky General Assembly. [House Bill 331]

2015 January 15--Bluer Mud is published by Jim Deaton.

2015 -- Kurt Belcher, Butler, competes on "The Amazing Race".

2015--Pendleton County Board of Education Wall of Fame recipient; Nathan Jones - Major League Pitcher with Chicago White Sox.

2015 April 11--Falmouth Tire & Lube opens at 261 Ridgeway Ave.

2015 July--City of Butler’s Fourth of July fireworks display postponed due to bad weather.

2015 December 23-- Bethel Church destroyed by tornado-force winds.

2015 December 23-- Knoxville Baptist Church damaged by tornado-force winds.

2016 January--Duke Hamilton's home, near Morgan, a total loss after fire.

March--A memorial is constructed at Snag Creek by Daniel Turner in honor of his sister Tara Turner.

2016 March--Announcement: Edwardo's Pizza & Subs in Falmouth will be holding a benefit for Tara Turner from 7-11 p.m. on Saturday, April 2 in an effort to raise funds for her memorial service. If any funds are left over they will go to a bank account that has been setup in her name to help raise her three children. The Beer Money Band will be providing live music for this event and there will also be numerous fundraising such as raffles and silent auctions.

2016 March-April-- Senior Trip: Seniors from Pendleton County High School travel to Washington DC, then to Arlington National Cemetery. Following their tour, they watch the Changing of the Guards ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers. After that, they continue on to New York City before returning home.

2016 April 1--Home of Frank Hanser on Gumlick Road catches fire [total loss].

2016 April--Pendleton County Animal Shelter! Help them fundraise with Wooftrax Shoes for Shelters by donating your gently worn, used, or new shoes! Your donated shoes will help the shelter receive $1,000 for use to put towards their capital campaign building fund. Help the animal shelter reach their goal of 2,500 pairs of shoes by dropping yours off at the Pendleton County Animal Shelter, Pendleton County Veterinarian Office, Grant’s Lick Veterinarian Office or the Pendleton County Public Library. You can also arrange to have someone pick them up. The deadline to make a donation is Saturday, May 7. 2016.

2016 April 6-- Jewish Holocaust survivor Dr. Henry Fenichel, Professor of Physics Emeritus at the University of Cincinnati, presented 'Story of a Star Child' to eighth grade students at Phillip A. Sharp Middle School. [Dr. Fenichel provided a firsthand account of events he witnessed during the time leading up to and during World War II. ]

2016 April 27--Falmouth Mayor Elonda Hinson officially removes Benny Johnson from his position as the city police chief.

2016 April 23--Ladies Day, When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Lemonade”, from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Oakland Christian Church Luncheon served by the men of Oakland. This is a free event, but please bring a canned food item for the 'Feeding Our Neighbors' ministry.

2016 May 3--Pendleton County's first annual “Senior Bash. [This event is designed to show appreciation for senior citizens by providing a day of entertainment, fun, information, food and prizes. It is hosted by the Pendleton County Fiscal Court. The event is at the fairgrounds in Falmouth. Senior Bash is geared toward residents who are 55 or older and live in Pendleton County.]

2016 May--With the resignation of Joe Dean, Chris Scott has assumes the interim Wildcat Baseball Varsity Coach position. [“I’m thankful to be given the opportunity to work with the boys as interim coach and look forward to seeing what the remainder of the season holds,” Coach Scott commented on his assuming the role of varsity baseball coach.]

2016 May 29--American Legion Post 109 held a ceremony to honor all of their past and fallen veterans. [During the remembrance program, they took the opportunity to recognize three of their World War II veterans who are still alive: Charlie Biddle, Shelby McDowell and Baxter Courts.]

2016 June--Kim Hinton Lail is inducted into the 10th Region Girls Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

2016 June 4--An appreciation reception is held for Terry England at the Farm Bureau Building in Falmouth.[Over 100 people including family, friends, and former co-workers, showed up to honor and thank the former city clerk for his 28 years of dedicated service to the City of Falmouth.]

2016 July--KET documentary on Kentucky roadside attractions features Punkyville.

2016 July 2--City of Falmouth's annual Fourth of July parade and festivities in downtown Falmouth. This year’s theme is “The Way We Were” with 50s-60s related subject matter.

2016 July 5--Butler Festival, scheduled for Saturday, August 13, 2016 postponed by unanimous vote of council at meeting of the Butler City Council.

2016 August--Eight recent retirees are recognized during the Great News portion of the August Board of Education Meeting. These employees have a combined total of 185.25 years of service to Pendleton County Schools. They we Cathy Ashcraft—29 years; Billie Jo Chaplin—30.5 years; Aimee Gallagher—16.5 years; Pam Johnson—19 years; Sandra LaFollette—28 years; Alice Shanklin—18 years; Greg Valentine—25 years; Debbie Veirs—19.25 years

2016 August 10--A train derailment occurred just after 10:30 a.m. on August 10 near the old depot in Falmouth. [The train was transporting 76 cars. Some were carrying hazardous chemicals according to CSX. It is unconfirmed what chemicals were onboard. Sheriff Peoples reports that there are no apparent leaks but he is waiting on HAZMAT to confirm...US 27 reopened. No leakage detected.]

2016 September--The new Pendleton County Ambulance quarters will soon be ready for emergency personnel to start using. Work on the project is nearing completion after two years of planning and building. The state-of-the-art facility is located on Highway 330 in Falmouth and features a number of improvements and upgrades. An official ribbon cutting ceremony is scheduled for October 3, 2016.

2016 November--Pendleton County Schools' Superintendent, Dr. Anthony Strong, is named one of the top 4 finalists for the 2017 Superintendent, of the Year Award by the Kentucky Association of School Administrators.

2016 December-- Pendleton County by the Numbers, a historical chronology, added to the Pendleton County Picture Hub.

2016 December 27--Chapel of Praise Assembly of God at Highway 159 and Lenoxburg Road in Falmouth, Kentucky burned; a complete loss.

2017 January 5-- Due to the inclement weather, the Board of Education Meeting for 1/5/2017 is canceled.

2017 January 15--According to police reports, Johnnie McCoy, 36, of Falmouth, operating a 2016 Chevrolet, was traveling north on Hwy 159 approaching the intersection of Loop Road and was unable to negotiate a curve due to excessive speed and wet pavement.

2017 February 13-- Upon recommendation of Mayor Greg McElfresh, Butler City Council approves hiring of Brian Thompson, Pendleton County Zoning Coordinator, as Floodplain Coordinator for a period of one year.

2017 February--Mary Pettit selected to fill the new Drug Free Communities Project Coordinator for the Pendleton County Champions Coalition.

2017 February--Pendleton County Wildcats look to claim their third straight district championship of the 38th District Tournament (held in 2017 at Harrison County High School).

2017 February--On US 27 South and Rankin Mill Road, south of McKenneysburg, Curtis Sandy of Cynthiana, stopped to avoid a previous accident, is struck from behind by Jimmy Castellano of Pennsylvania, operating a 2003 Peterbilt, and is pronounced dead at the scene by the Pendleton County Coroner’s Office. The drivers of the other vehicles were not seriously injured, police said.

2017 February--St. Frances Xavier’s Knights of Columbus presented a gift in the amount of $4,000 to the Southern Family Resource and Youth Services Center.

2017 February--Northern Kentucky Community Action Commission (NKCAC) in Pendleton County was the recipient of a $2,000 donation from CSX Railroad on Thursday, January 12, 2017. [The funds will be used to support the neighborhood center’s outreach efforts].

2017 February--SugarPie’s Gift Shoppe will be opening at its new location on Shelby Street in Falmouth on February 1.

2017 February--Pendleton County[Butler] native Nate Jones has been selected to play for Team USA in the World Baseball Classic.

2017 February--Camp Northward announces it will soon be moving to its new home on Broadford Road. After being located in Shoemakertown for 65 years, the Christian summer camp decided to relocate after the Flood of 1997.

2017 February 1-- Pendleton County Peddler's Mall opens at 226 West Shelby Street in Falmouth.

2017 February 11--A two-vehicle accident on US 27 at the Catawba Road intersection around 6:45 p.m. sends two to area hospitals.

2017 February 20--Pendleton County Wildcat basketball’s winningest season in 11 years comes to an abrupt halt following a 63-55 upset loss to Harrison County in the district championship post-season opening game.

2017 March--Subway Restaurant in Falmouth closes.

2017 March-- State and local officials decide that a local flood committee will be formed to help with finding solutions: Cindy Minter, Campbell County Planning Administrator, Senator Wil Schroder, Pendleton County Judge/Executive David Fields, Falmouth Mayor Elonda Hinson, Representative Mark Hart, Brian Thompson, Pendleton County Planning Administrator, Butler Mayor Greg McElfresh.

2017 March-- Kentucky state parks officials announce the golf course at Kincaid Lake will remain open through Oct. 31.

2017 March 3--"The Flood of 1997 - 20th Anniversary" is in this week's edition of the Falmouth Outlook.

2017 March 3--American Cancer Society awards top honors to Janice Polley, named as “Volunteer of The Year” for her work in caring for those with cancer while The Falmouth Outlook received the “Lighthouse Media Award” for their annual contributions to Relay For Life of Pendleton County, in addition to their first annual Relay For Life printed supplement that featured survivor stories and event details.

2017 March 7-- The last Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus train to ever go through Falmouth.

2017 July--Chicago White Sox relief pitcher Nate Jones has season ending surgery to reposition a nerve in his elbow.

2017 July--Following two years of work by Butler City Council, Mayor Greg McElfresh and Director of Development Bill Mitchell the dilapidated sewer and water lines will be removed and the refurbishment of Butler’s sewer and water systems will be under way. This was noted at the July 10, 2017 meeting of city council during Emily Carnahan’s presentation. Carnahan is the Community Development Specialist with Northern Kentucky Area Development District (KYADD) who will oversee the entire project.

2017 August 30--Falmouth mayor Elonda Hinson impeached after unanimous city council vote

2017 October 6-8--The Kentucky Wool Festival marked the 35th year of existence for the annual October event.


Top

1700s

1800s

1900s

2000s

Do you have a date to add? Go to Pendleton County by the Number's Facebook page and post it.

Picture Hub Home